Tomás Mackey Installed as Next BWA President

Baptist World Alliance Concludes 1st Virtual General Council

Mackey has been actively involved in Unión Bautista de Latinoamérica (UBLA), preached at numerous UBLA Congresses, and served as a delegate to the Association of Seminaries and Theological Institutions (ASIT). He served as Dean of the International Baptist Theological Seminary in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 1993-2004, and as a professor since 1979. He has chaired the pastoral fraternity for the Argentine Baptist Association (ABA), served as General Secretary of the Argentine Baptist Youth from 1976-1978, and as Youth Advisor for the Argentine Baptist Youth from 2005 until present. 

“Tomás and I commenced serving with the BWA in the same year of 1991, and it was a joy to work with him in planning for the 1995 Congress in his home country of Argentina,” said David Coffey, BWA President (2005-2010). “Tomás knows that the Lord has brought him to serve the BWA ‘for such a time as this.’ I believe that through his ministry of encouragement Tomás will inspire our global family to engage with the unique pastoral and missional opportunities of this kairos moment.”

The start of the 2020-2025 quinquennium also includes the installation of Vice Presidents that represent all six of the BWA’s regional fellowships. Jamaica Baptist Union General Secretary Karl Johnson of Jamaica will serve as First Vice President, and Carolyn Fossen from the United States of America will continue in her role as Treasurer. Other Vice Presidents include:

  • Samson Ayokunle, Nigerian Baptist Convention President, from Nigeria (All Africa Baptist Fellowship)
  • Fernando Macedo Brandão, Executive Director of the Brazilian Baptist Convention National Mission Board, from Brazil (Union of Baptists in Latin America)
  • Otniel Ioan Bunaciu, Professor, from Romania (European Baptist Federation)
  • Joel Dorsinville, Caribbean Baptist Fellowship Vice President, from Haiti (Caribbean Baptist Fellowship)
  • John Hickey, Transform Aid International CEO, from Australia (Asia Pacific Baptist Federation)
  • Noemi Janson, Colombian Baptist Denomination President, from Colombia (Union of Baptists in Latin America)
  • Dave Kwok, Church Planter and Practicing Public Accountant, from Hong Kong (Asia Pacific Baptist Federation)
  • Jennifer Lau, Associate Executive Director of Canadian Baptist Ministries, from Canada (North America Baptist Fellowship)
  • Elizabeth Mvula, Vice President of the Baptist Convention of Malawi, from Malawi (All Africa Baptist Fellowship)
  • Albert Reyes, President & CEO of Buckner International from USA (North American Baptist Fellowship)
  • Lina Mikhael Sawan, University Lecturer and Sunday School Leader, from Lebanon (European Baptist Federation)
  • Rachael Tan, Assistant Professor of New Testament at Taiwan Baptist Theological Seminary, from Taiwan / The Philippines (Asia Pacific Baptist Federation)
  • Elijah Wanje, Pastor, from Kenya (All Africa Baptist Fellowship)

Those wishing to view the opening or closing sessions of the General Council can do so by visiting the BWA YouTube Channel . Members of the global Baptist family are also invited to share a tribute, prayer, or word of encouragement with President Msiza and President Mackey by clicking the buttons below.


Tomás Mackey of Argentina begins 2020-2025 term as President of the Baptist World Alliance.
Ngwedla Paul Msiza completed his five-year term as BWA President on July 23, 2020.