Testen von Atomwaffen

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1977.5

IN DER ERWÄGUNG, dass der Baptistische Weltkongress 1970 in Tokio internationale "Vereinbarungen zur Begrenzung sowohl offensiver als auch defensiver strategischer Waffen" und "sofortige Vereinbarungen zur Aussetzung der weiteren Stationierung aller offensiven und defensiven nuklearen strategischen Waffensysteme, vorbehaltlich nationaler Verifikation oder anderer geeigneter Maßnahmen der Beobachtung und Inspektion" forderte, und

IN DER ERWÄGUNG, dass der Baptistische Weltkongress 1975 in Stockholm die Konferenzen zur Rüstungsbegrenzung ermutigend zur Kenntnis nahm und die Regierungen aufforderte, "die üble Beschleunigung des fantastisch teuren Rüstungswettlaufs aufzugeben", und

Wobei der Kongress 1970 auch seine Sorge um die Weltökologie zum Ausdruck brachte,

ES SEI BESCHLOSSEN

(1) Dass der Generalrat des Baptistischen Weltbundes seine Unterstützung für die unverzügliche Aushandlung und Ratifizierung eines umfassenden Atomteststoppvertrages zum Ausdruck bringt, zumindest für einen Versuchszeitraum von vier Jahren; oder, falls ein solcher umfassender Vertrag nicht schnell zustande kommt, unterstützen wir ein Moratorium für Atomwaffentests für mindestens vier Jahre, in denen weitere Anstrengungen zur Ausarbeitung eines umfassenden Atomteststoppvertrages unternommen werden können;

(2) Dass wir bis zum Abschluss eines solchen Vertrages alle Nationen, die über nukleare Fähigkeiten verfügen, auffordern, freiwillig auf Atomwaffentests zu verzichten, solange andere die gleiche Zurückhaltung üben.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Denny, Robert S., Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1977: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1977.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Robert S. Denny, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1977: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1977), S. 46.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1977.5 Testen von Atomwaffen; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1977.5).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Testing of Nuclear Weapons

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 1977.5

WHEREAS the Baptist World Congress, held in Tokyo in 1970, called for International “agreements for the limitation of both offensive and defensive strategic weapons” and for “immediate agreements to suspend the further deployment of all offensive and defensive nuclear strategic weapons systems, subject to national verification or such other measures of observation and inspection as may be appropriate,” and

WHEREAS the Baptist World Congress, held at Stockholm in 1975, expressed encouragement in noting the conferences on arms limitations, and called “upon governments to abandon the evil acceleration of the fantastically costly armaments race,” and

WHEREAS the Congress in 1970 also expressed its concern for world ecology,

BE IT RESOLVED

(1) That the General Council of the Baptist World Alliance express its support for the prompt negotiation and ratification of a comprehensive nuclear test ban treaty, for at least an experimental period of four years; or, if such a comprehensive treaty is not agreed upon quickly, we support a moratorium on nuclear weapons testing for at least four years, during which time more efforts can be made at working out a comprehensive nuclear test ban treaty;

(2) That, pending the completion of such a treaty, we urge all nations, possessing nuclear capability, to restrain voluntarily from nuclear weapons testing, so long as others exercise the same restraint.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Denny, Robert S., editor. Baptist World Alliance 1977 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1977.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Robert S. Denny, ed., Baptist World Alliance 1977 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1977), p. 46.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 1977.5 Testing of Nuclear Weapons; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 1977.5).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.