关于社会进步的决议

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA世界大会第1911.5号决议

S. Z. Batten博士提交了以下决议,并提议予以通过。

鉴于世界浸信会联盟对福音的社会方面和基督徒对人类社会的责任给予了如此大的重视,我们对此表示欢呼;并且

鉴于人们越来越相信,基督教将在人类生活的所有关系中占据主导地位,基督的目的是将王国的祝福带入所有人的生活,人类有责任将基督教原则应用于人类社会的现有条件,并且

鉴于国际上有许多道德上的恶行,它们拖延了王国的进展,给地球上的人民带来了阴影,因此。

已解决指定十五个社会进步委员会,提醒世界上其他宗教团体指定类似的委员会,共同商讨并努力确保采取协调一致的行动,以消除这些罪恶,使基督教对地球上各国的影响更加有益。该委员会也应研究教会对社会的进一步责任,并应建议如何使耶稣基督成为世界社会生活中的一个事实。

普雷斯蒂奇博士。我知道在该决议上签名的人都是对的。见第十六页)。

我们有一个决议委员会,负责审查这类事项并批准它们。他们可以在半小时内提出报告。我希望看到这个报告,这样我们就可以喘口气,看看涉及多少费用,是否需要一个秘书。

因此,该决议被提交给了决议委员会。

Crandall博士:决议委员会建议对Batten博士提交的决议采取有利的行动,并加上以下补充:"该行动不涉及联盟的任何费用"。

因此,该建议获得通过。

引用

原始来源参考书目:费城委员会,编辑。 世界浸信会联盟第二次大会。费城,1911年6月19-25日。 费城。Harper and Brother Company, 1911.

原始来源脚注/尾注: 费城委员会,编辑。 世界浸信会联盟第二次大会。费城,1911年6月19-25日 费城:哈珀和兄弟公司,1911年),第333-334页;336页。

在线文档全文引用。 BWA世界大会第1911.5号决议 关于社会进步的决议; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 BWA世界大会决议1911.5)。

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

Resolution on Social Progress

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1911.5

Dr. S. Z. Batten presented the following resolution, and moved its adoption:

Whereas, We hail with joy the fact that the Baptist World Alliance is giving such a large place to the social aspect of the gospel and the duty of Christian people to human society; and

Whereas, There is a growing conviction that Christianity is to dominate human life in all its relations, that it is Christ’s purpose to bring the blessings of the kingdom into the life of all men and that it is man’s duty to apply Christian principles to existing conditions in human society, and

Whereas, There are many moral evils international in their scope which are delaying the progress of the kingdom and casting a blight over the peoples of the earth, Therefore,

Resolved, That a Committee on Social Progress of fifteen be appointed to memorialize other religious bodies of the world to appoint similar committees who shall confer together and endeavor to secure such concerted action as shall destroy these evils and make the impact of Christendom upon the nations of earth more helpful. This committee shall also study the further duty of the church to society and shall suggest ways whereby Jesus Christ may become a fact in the social life of the world.

Dr. Prestridge: I know the names signed to that resolution are all right. (See page xvi.)

We have a Committee on Resolutions to look over matters of that kind and to endorse them. They could report in half an hour. I would like to see that reported, so that we can catch our breath as to how much is involved, as to expense or need of a secretary.* I move it be reported to the Committee on Resolutions, and that they report to us in half an hour.

The resolution was accordingly referred to the Committee on Resolutions.

Dr. Crandall: The Committee on Resolutions recommends for favorable action the resolution submitted by Dr. Batten with this addendum: “This action shall not involve the Alliance in any expense.”

The recommendation was accordingly adopted.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Philadelphia Committee, editor. The Baptist World Alliance Second Congress: Philadelphia, June 19-25, 1911. Philadelphia: Harper and Brother Company, 1911.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Philadelphia Committee, ed., The Baptist World Alliance Second Congress: Philadelphia, June 19-25, 1911 (Philadelphia: Harper and Brother Company, 1911), pp. 333- 334; 336.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1911.5 Resolution on Social Progress; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1911.5).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.