关于宗教自由、人权、世界和平和公共道德的决议

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA世界大会决议1975.1

鉴于在上帝的旨意中,宗教和生活是结合在一起的,并且
鉴于圣经》教导我们,上帝关注并引导他的子民关注这两方面的问题。

个人和社会,以及

鉴于在过去五年中,妇女事务局向宗教自由和人权委员会委派了特别责任,负责宗教自由、人权、世界和平和公共道德领域的研究,以及

鉴于我们已经投入了大量的时间和精力来确保和准备关于这四个主题的报告、研究和评估,每年都有来自世界各地的浸信会机构的代表来处理这些问题。

因此,决定 通过以下基督教原则声明,作为世界浸信会联盟第十三次大会的基督教关注。

宗教自由

我们感谢浸礼会的宗教自由遗产,感谢世界宗教和政治领袖对宗教自由越来越多的支持,但也注意到敌对和友好政府以及包括我们自己的宗教团体内部的趋势所带来的危险,我们重申我们对所有人的充分宗教自由的信念。

这种自由包括以下内容。

a.公开宣称和承认自己的信仰,包括接受洗礼的自由,即使这涉及到宗教身份的改变。

b.宣扬自己的宗教信仰和经验的自由。
c.从事私人和团体敬拜的自由。
d.传授自己的宗教信仰的自由和父母提供宗教指导的自由,以及

培养他们的孩子。
e.倡导更大的社会正义和社会变革的民间秩序的自由。

f.宗教团体在不受外界控制或干扰的情况下处理自己事务的自由,以及拥有满足其需要的财产的自由。

我们许多国家的浸信会信徒在斯德哥尔摩集会,参加第十三届世界浸信会大会,庄严地再次承诺。

1.为全人类有效的宗教自由而祈祷、倡导和工作,因为我们知道许多兄弟姐妹在抵制政府的限制时失去了自由,在某些情况下还失去了生命。

2.呼吁宗教团体的领导人和国家政府的领导人接受、实施和捍卫所有人的充分宗教自由。

3.3. 倡导出版和分发与自己的宗教信仰有关的材料的自由。

4.4. 不为宗教目的向公民政府寻求或接受会侵犯所有公民的充分宗教自由的特权。

5.寻求将我们的教会更充分地置于耶稣基督的唯一主宰之下,以便我们能够真正地 "服从上帝而不是服从人"。

人权问题

我们相信,上帝按照自己的形象创造了人类,他赋予我们某些人权,基督徒有义务肯定、捍卫和扩大这些权利。

1.1.生活必需品的权利包括所有人获得生命、自由、食物、衣服、住所、健康、教育、工作权利和追求幸福的权利,包括能够充分发展人类潜能的生活质量。特别是考虑到目前与世界饥饿有关的危机,我们呼吁世界各地的浸礼会成员慷慨分享,遵循基督徒负责任的管理生活方式,并支持发展更好的粮食生产和分配系统。

2.社会各阶层,包括妇女、青年、老年人、少数民族和穷人,参与教会和社区决策的权利包括自决权和经济及社会正义的权利。我们呼吁社会的这些阶层,特别是妇女,认识到他们参与使用权力的权利和责任,我们呼吁浸信会信徒为这些阶层开放机会,让他们充分参与教会的决策,并支持他们充分参与社区决策。

3.保持文化特性的权利包括种族、族裔和民族群体保持其自我决定的特性的权利。我们申明联合国《世界人权宣言》中规定的原则。

4.持不同意见的权利包括隐私权和遵从自己的良心的权利,即使这可能涉及到与既定秩序的不同。负责任地行使这一权利可以使社会制度不至于僵化为极权主义的僵化。

5.个人尊严的权利包括儿童、老人和病人获得照顾和尊严的权利,以及拒绝监狱和精神障碍机构等监禁场所的酷刑和不人道的条件。

世界和平

作为浸信会信徒,我们承认和平是上帝的礼物,他在信徒的生活中建立了和平,然后使他们能够分享和平并扩大和平。上帝对他的子民的呼召不是为了争斗,而是为了和平。和平始于有善意的人的心中,他们的生活与和平的王子结合在一起。当人们愿意为实现和平的事情而努力时,和平就会扩展到国家、种族和制度。

我们对当代国际关系的一些改善感到鼓舞,包括军备限制会议、核武器控制、仲裁努力和目前的缓和局面;但我们对世界许多地方持续存在的暴力和武装冲突感到遗憾。贪婪、经济和政治帝国主义、侵略性的民族主义、玩世不恭的背信弃义、不公正和压迫的力量仍在发挥作用;人和国家的邪恶激情仍在困扰着世界和平的事业。

面对世界上的饥饿和人类的大量需求,我们呼吁各国政府放弃邪恶地加速耗费巨大的军备竞赛,在军备销售中摒弃国家的贪婪,并合作消除经济和政治上的战争动机。

在和平的事业中,我们浸信会成员保证以一种新的紧迫感为实现和平而努力,牢记基督的话:"使人和睦的人有福了,因为他们必称为神的儿女"。

公共道德

在现代世界,公共道德的危急状况已经有了新的紧迫感。它已经不仅仅是一个 "将永远与我们同在 "的过去的常年问题。现代世界技术及其交通和大众传播媒体的奇迹,越来越多地合谋将个人、社区和国家的不道德行为转化为世界的不道德行为。我们沮丧地了解到,世界上没有一个地方是安全的。(a) 对人类性行为的商业剥削;(b) 主日的完全世俗化,只是另一个工作日;(c) 政府的一种宗教中立性的增长,实际上成为道德虚无主义;(d) 对传统基督教的婚姻和家庭关系观点的抛弃。(e) 公众舆论,甚至官方公共政策都认为酗酒和吸毒只是医学问题,而不是道德问题;(f) 赌博和不劳而获的哲学癌变;(g) 政府官员公然违反诚实和正直的原则;以及对法律的尊重不断下降。

当代公共道德危机的最关键层面是,基督教徒有可能接受流行的观点,即公共道德的下滑是不可避免的,对此无能为力。我们相信,在基督里一切皆有可能,作为地球之盐的基督徒能够而且必须发挥积极的影响,在当代世界振兴基督教道德。

我们呼吁所有国家的浸信会信徒。

1.1.在世界范围内发起公共道德的运动,从基督徒的个人家庭开始,重新致力于基督教的公义和道德标准。

2.成为更有效的基督教公民(包括成为诚实和正直的公职人员),致力于制定和有效执行那些旨在使社区成为更好的生活和抚养孩子的地方的法律和政策。

3.为那种将信息和娱乐带入家庭的大众传播媒体而努力,这种媒体要符合基督徒的合法权利和需要。

4.4. 努力争取法律、公共政策和有效的行政管理,以消除基于种族、国籍、性别或信仰而对不同人群的任意对待;以及

5.5.单独或与他人合作,使我们的教会更敏感地意识到为公共道德有效工作的方式,并重新承诺将祈祷、圣经研究、世界宣教和基督教服务与实现我们世界的公共道德联系起来。

引用

原始来源参考书目:Bryant, Cyril E. and Stewart, Debbie, editors. 新世界的新人民--通过基督。第十三次大会的正式报告,瑞典斯德哥尔摩,1975年7月8日至13日。 纳什维尔。Broadman Press, 1976.

原始来源脚注/尾注: Cyril E. Bryant和Debbie Stewart,编辑。 新世界的新人民--通过基督。第十三届大会的正式报告,瑞典斯德哥尔摩,1975年7月8日至13日 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1976), pp.255-259.

在线文档全文引用。 BWA世界大会决议1975.1 关于宗教自由、人权、世界和平和公共道德的决议; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 BWA世界大会决议1975.1)。

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

Resolution on Religious Liberty, Human Rights, World Peace and Public Morality

Logo - BWA Globe (Transparent)

BWA World Congress Resolution 1975.1

Whereas, in the providence of God, religion and life are joined together, and
Whereas, the Bible teaches that God is concerned and leads his people to be concerned about both

individuals and society, and

Whereas, during the past five years the BWA has assigned to the Commission on Religious Liberty and Human Rights special responsibilities for study in the areas of religious liberty, human rights, world peace, and public morality, and

Whereas, much time and energy have been devoted to securing and preparing reports, studies, and appraisals of these four subjects which have been dealt with annually be representatives from Baptist bodies from around the world,

Therefore, be it resolved that the following statements of Christian principle be adopted as Christian concerns of the Thirteenth Congress of the Baptist World Alliance:

Religious Liberty

With gratitude for our Baptist heritage of religious liberty and for growing support of it among religious and political leaders of the world, yet mindful of dangers posed by both hostile and friendly governments and by trends within religious communities, including our own, we reaffirm our belief in full religious liberty for all persons.

This freedom includes the following:

a. Freedom to profess openly and confess one’s faith, including baptism, even when this involves a change of religious identity.

b. Freedom to proclaim one’s religious beliefs and experiences.
c. Freedom to engage in private and corporate worship.
d. Freedom to teach one’s religious beliefs and freedom of parents to provide religious instruction and

nurture for their children.
e. Freedom to advocate greater social justice and social change in the civil order.

f. Freedom of religious groups to conduct their own affairs without outside control or interference and to have property to use for their needs.

We Baptists of many nations, assembled in Stockholm for the Thirteenth Baptist World Congress, solemnly recommit ourselves:

1. To pray, advocate, and work for effectual religious freedom for all human beings, knowing that many of our brothers and sisters have lost their freedoms and in some cases their lives while resisting government restrictions.

2. To call upon leaders of religious bodies and leaders of national governments to accept, implement, and defend full religious liberty for all persons.

3. To advocate freedom to publish and distribute materials pertaining to one’s religious beliefs.

4. To refrain from seeking or accepting from civil governments for religious purposes privileges that would infringe upon the full religious liberty of all citizens.

5. To seek to bring our churches more fully under the sole lordship of Jesus Christ, so that we may truly “obey God rather than men.”

Human Rights

We believe that God has made humankind in his own image and that he endows us with certain human rights which Christians are obligated to affirm, defend, and extend:

1. The right to the necessities of life includes the rights of all persons to have access to life, liberty, food, clothing, shelter, health, education, the right to work, and the pursuit of happiness including a quality of life that allows for adequate development of human potentialities. Especially in view of the current crisis related to world hunger, we call on Baptists around the world to share generously, follow a life-style of responsible Christian stewardship, and support the development of better food production and distribution systems.

2. The right of all segments of society, including women, youth, the aging, minorities, and the poor, to participate in church and community decision making includes the rights to self-determination and economic and social justice. We call on these segments of society, especially women, to recognize their right and responsibility to be involved in the use of power, and we call on Baptists to open opportu­nities to these segments for full participation in church decision making and to support their full participation in community decision making.

3. The right to maintain cultural identity includes the rights of racial, ethnic, and national groups to maintain their self-determined identities. We affirm the principles set forth in the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

4. The right to dissent includes the right to privacy and the right to obey one’s conscience even though it may involve differing with the established order. The responsible exercise of this right keeps social systems from hardening into totalitarian rigidity.

5. The right to personal dignity includes the rights of children, the aging, and the sick to care and dignity, and the rejection of torture and inhumane conditions in places of confinement such as prisons and institutions for the mentally disturbed.

World Peace

As Baptists we acknowledge that peace is the gift of God who establishes peace in the lives of believers and then enables them to share it and extend it. God’s call to his people is not to strife but to peace. Peace begins in the hearts of people of good will whose lives are in union with the Prince of peace. Peace extends to nations and races and systems when people are willing to work for the things that make for peace.

We are encouraged by some contemporary improvements international relations including conferences on arms limitation, control of nuclear weapons, arbitration efforts, and the current detente; yet we deplore the violence and armed conflict persisting in many parts of the world. The forces of greed, economic and political imperialism, aggressive nationalism, cynical betrayals of trust, injustice, and oppression are still at work; and evil passions in men and nations still besiege the cause of world peace.

In the face of world hunger and massive human need on every hand, we call upon governments to abandon the evil acceleration of the fantastically costly armaments race, to turn away from national greed in the sale of armaments, and to cooperate in the removal of economic and political incentives to war.

In the cause of peace, we Baptists pledge ourselves to work with a new sense of urgency for the things that make for peace, remembering the words of Christ, “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God.”

Public Morality

The critical state of public morality has taken on a new sense of urgency in the modern world. It has become far more than just a perennial problem of the past that “will always be with us.” Modern one- world technology and its miracles of transportation and mass communication media increasingly have conspired to transform the immorality of individual persons, communities, and nations, into the immorality of the world. We have learned with dismay that no part of the world is safe from: (a) commercial exploitation of human sexuality; (b) the total secularization of the Lord’s Day as just another workday; (c) the growth of a kind of religious neutrality by government that becomes in fact moral nihilism; (d) the abandonment of the traditional Christian view of marriage and family relationships; (e) the growth of public opinion and even of official public policy that alcoholism and drug addiction are only medical problems, not moral problems; (f) the cancerous growth of gambling and the philosophy of getting something for nothing; (g) the flagrant violation of principles of honesty and integrity by government officials; and a declining respect for the law.

The most critical dimension of the contemporary public morality crisis is the possibility that Christian people will accept the popular belief that the downward spiral of public morality is inevitable and nothing can be done about it. We believe that in Christ all things are possible, and that Christian people as the salt of the earth can and must exert positive influence for a revitalization of Christian morality in the contemporary world.

We call upon Baptist people in all nations to:

1. Launch a worldwide thrust for public morality, beginning in the individual homes of Christian people with a renewed commitment to Christian standards of righteousness and morality;

2. Become more effective Christian citizens (including becoming officeholders of honesty and integrity) committed to working for enactment and effective enforcement of those laws and policies designed to make communities better places in which to live and to rear children;

3. Work for the kind of mass communication media that will bring information and entertainment into the home that is consistent with the legitimate rights and needs of Christian people;

4. Work for laws, public policies, and effective administration designed to eliminate arbitrary treatment of different groups of people on the basis of race, nationality, sex, or creed; and

5. Work individually and with others to make our churches more sensitive to the ways of working effectively for public morality, and for a renewed commitment to relating prayer, Bible study, world missions, and Christian service to the achievement of public morality in our world.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Bryant, Cyril E. and Stewart, Debbie, editors. New People for a New World—Through Christ: Official Report of the Thirteenth Congress, Stockholm, Sweden, July 8-13, 1975. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1976.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Cyril E. Bryant and Debbie Stewart, eds., New People for a New World—Through Christ: Official Report of the Thirteenth Congress, Stockholm, Sweden, July 8-13, 1975 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1976), pp. 255-259.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1975.1 Resolution on Religious Liberty, Human Rights, World Peace and Public Morality; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1975.1).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance to Host Virtual World Congress

The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is transitioning the 22nd Baptist World Congress to a fully virtual event on July 7-10, 2021. This decision was made in prayerful response to the COVID-19 global pandemic and as a result of collaborative discussions with global Baptist leaders.