Resolution zu Rassenbeziehungen

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1960.1

Der Baptistische Weltkongress von 1934 erklärte, dass es in Christus eine allumfassende Einheit gibt, so dass in ihm "weder Grieche noch Jude, weder Beschneidung noch Unbeschnittenheit, weder Barbar noch Skythe, weder Sklave noch Freier ist: sondern Christus ist alles und in allem", und er verurteilte jede Form der Unterdrückung oder ungerechten Diskriminierung gegenüber den Juden, gegenüber Farbigen oder gegenüber unterworfenen Rassen.

Auf diesem Baptistischen Weltkongress 1960 bekräftigen wir die Überzeugung, die in jener Resolution zum Ausdruck kommt. Wir danken Gott für das Maß an Fortschritt, das bei der Verbesserung der Rassenbeziehungen erzielt worden ist. Dennoch erkennen wir an, dass in einigen Teilen der Welt noch viel zu tun bleibt und die Situation ernst ist.

Wir rufen deshalb unser baptistisches Volk in aller Welt auf, über den Rassenvorurteilen zu leben und die Führung bei der Abschaffung der Rassendiskriminierung und der Beseitigung der Demütigungen der Rassentrennung und des Kastensystems zu übernehmen, wo immer diese noch bestehen.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Ohrn, Arnold T., Herausgeber. Zehnter Baptistischer Weltkongress, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, 26. Juni bis 3. Juli 1960. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1961.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Arnold T. Ohrn, ed., Zehnter Baptistischer Weltkongress, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, 26. Juni bis 3. Juli 1960 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), S. 300.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1960.1 Resolution zu Rassenbeziehungen; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Weltkongress-Resolution 1960.1).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Resolution on Race Relations

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.1

The Baptist World Congress of 1934 declared that there is in Christ an all-embracing unity, so that in Him there is “neither Greek nor Jew, circumcision nor uncircumcision, Barbarian, Scythian, bond nor free: but Christ is all, and in all,” and He condemned every form of oppression or unfair discrimination toward the Jews, toward colored people, or toward subject races.

At this Baptist World Congress in 1960, we reaffirm the conviction stated in that resolution. We express our gratitude to God for the measure of progress which has been made in the improvement of race relations. Nevertheless, we recognize that in some parts of the world much still remains to be done, and the situation is grave.

We call, therefore, upon our Baptist people around the world to live above race prejudice and to take the lead in abolishing racial discrimination and removing the indignities of racial segregation and the caste system wherever these still exist.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Ohrn, Arnold T, editor. Tenth Baptist World Congress, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, June 26-July 3, 1960. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1961.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Arnold T. Ohrn, ed., Tenth Baptist World Congress, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, June 26-July 3, 1960 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), p. 300.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.1 Resolution on Race Relations; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.1).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.