Resolution zum Frieden

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1965.1

In diesen Tagen der Spannung und der Sorge um das Schicksal der gesamten Menschheit appellieren wir Baptisten an alle Christen, sich gemeinsam für den Erhalt des Friedens auf der Erde einzusetzen.

Wir müssen dem Ruf folgen, "den Frieden zu suchen und ihm nachzujagen". Die Dinge, die zu "Deinem Frieden" gehören, müssen gefunden werden. Keine Nation gewinnt einen Atomkrieg - alle werden besiegt. Jährlich werden von den Nationen der Welt bis zu einhundertzwanzig Milliarden Dollar für Rüstung und Streitkräfte ausgegeben.

Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass mit vereinten Kräften und dem Segen des allmächtigen Gottes das große Ziel des Friedens und des guten Willens auf Erden erreicht werden kann, zur Ehre Gottes und zur Freude und zum Glück der Menschheit.

Deshalb rufen wir, der Baptistische Weltbund, der sich in Miami Beach, Florida, USA, versammelt hat, die Nationen der Welt auf, von direkten oder indirekten Aggressionen abzusehen, sei es in Vietnam, Santo Domingo, Tibet, Berlin, im Nahen Osten, Afrika, Asien, Europa, Amerika oder in anderen Teilen der Welt.

Wir rufen die Nationen der Welt auf, den Konferenztisch zur Beilegung aller internationalen Streitigkeiten zu nutzen und zu diesem Zweck die Organe der Vereinten Nationen einzusetzen.

Wir fordern alle Regierungen auf, auf den Einsatz von Atomwaffen zu verzichten, keine Atomwaffentests für Kriegszwecke durchzuführen und alle Atomwaffenbestände zu vernichten, nachdem angemessene Sicherheitsvorkehrungen getroffen wurden.

Wir rufen Menschen guten Glaubens und guten Willens in allen Kirchen, in allen Religionen und in allen Nationen auf, jeden gültigen Weg zu nutzen - sozial, politisch, wirtschaftlich und religiös -, um alle Formen des Krieges zu beenden und einen gerechten Frieden für die ganze Menschheit zu schaffen.

Wir rufen besonders die Christen auf, sofort gegen den Krieg in dieser modernen Zeit zu protestieren, der unweigerlich die Vernichtung der Menschheit mit sich bringen würde, und dringend für den Weltfrieden zu beten und zu arbeiten.

Wir verkünden Jesus Christus als den wahren Fürsten des Friedens und die Hoffnung der Welt.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Nordenhaug, Josef, Herausgeber. The Truth That Makes Men Free: Offizieller Bericht des elften Kongresses, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., 25. bis 30. Juni 1965. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Josef Nordenhaug, ed., The Truth That Makes Men Free: Offizieller Bericht des elften Kongresses, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., 25-30. Juni 1965 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), S. 516.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1965.1 Resolution zum Frieden; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Weltkongress 1965.1).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Resolution on Peace

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1965.1

In these days of tension and concern for the destiny of all mankind, we Baptists appeal to all Christians to join together to preserve peace on earth.

We must answer the call “to seek peace and pursue it.” The things that belong to “Thy peace” must be found. No nation wins a nuclear war—all are defeated. As much as one hundred and twenty billions of dollars are being spent yearly on armaments and armed forces by the nations of the world.

We are firmly convinced that with a united effort and the blessing of Almighty God, the great aim of peace and good will upon earth can be reached, to the glory of God and the joy and happiness of mankind.

We, therefore, the Baptist World Alliance meeting in Assembly in Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., call upon the nations of the world to desist from acts of direct or indirect aggression whether they be in Viet Nam, Santo Domingo, Tibet, Berlin, the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, the Americas, or in any other parts of the world.

We call upon the nations of the world to use the conference table to settle all international disputes and to use the agencies of the United Nations to this end.

We call on all governments to renounce the use of nuclear arms, to desist from the testing of nuclear weapons for war, and to destroy all stockpiles of nuclear arms after appropriate safeguards are given and received.

We call upon men of faith and good will in all churches, in all religions, and in all nations to use every valid channel—social, political, economic and religious—to end all forms of war and to establish a just peace for all mankind.

We call especially upon Christians to be instant in protestations against warfare in this modern age that would inevitably bring human annihilation and to be urgent in praying and working for world peace.

We proclaim Jesus Christ as the true Prince of peace and the hope of the world.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Nordenhaug, Josef, editor. The Truth That Makes Men Free: Official Report of the Eleventh Congress, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., June 25-30, 1965. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Josef Nordenhaug, ed., The Truth That Makes Men Free: Official Report of the Eleventh Congress, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., June 25-30, 1965 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), p. 516.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1965.1 Resolution on Peace; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress 1965.1).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.