Resolution zu Nukleartests

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1960.2

Wir glauben:

1. Dass Gott den Menschen nach seinem Ebenbild geschaffen hat und für ihn ein Leben in Frieden, gegenseitigem Respekt und gegenseitiger Abhängigkeit vorgesehen hat;

2. Dass der Heilige Geist alle Christen in diesen Tagen internationaler Spannungen und Unruhen dazu bewegt, jeden möglichen Einfluss auszuüben, um die Sache des Friedens und des guten Willens unter den Menschen zu fördern, indem sie sich an das geistliche Gebot erinnern, "den Frieden zu suchen und ihm zu folgen";

3. Dass Atomtests und die Anhäufung von Atomwaffen dazu neigen, internationales Misstrauen, Verdächtigungen und Ängste zu schüren und das Leben der Menschen ernsthaft zu bedrohen, physisch und geistig.

DARUM

Wir bitten dringend die Nationen, auf alle Tests von Atomwaffen und deren Produktion zu verzichten; und sich gemeinsam auf zufriedenstellende Methoden der Inspektion zu einigen, die sicherstellen sollen, dass alle Nationen in dieser Angelegenheit guten Glaubens handeln. Und wir bitten die Baptisten der Welt, sich ernsthaft zu bemühen, in diesem Bereich von kritischer Bedeutung gut informiert zu werden, und unablässig für die Zunahme des Geistes des Verständnisses und des gegenseitigen Vertrauens zu beten, durch den Frieden für die ganze Menschheit möglich wird.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Ohrn, Arnold T., Herausgeber. Zehnter Baptistischer Weltkongress, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, 26. Juni bis 3. Juli 1960. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1961.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Arnold T. Ohrn, ed., Zehnter Baptistischer Weltkongress, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, 26. Juni bis 3. Juli 1960 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), S. 300-301.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Weltkongress Resolution 1960.2 Resolution zu Nukleartests; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (Entschließung des BWA-Weltkongresses 1960.2).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Resolution on Nuclear Testing

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.2

We believe:

1. That God has created man in His own image and intended for him a life of peace, mutual respect, and interdependence;

2. That the Holy Spirit moves all Christians in these days of international tension and unrest to exercise every possible influence for the furtherance of the cause of peace and good will among men, remembering the spiritual command to “seek peace, and ensue it”;

3. That nuclear testing and the stockpiling of nuclear weapons tends to foment international mistrust, suspicion, and fear, and seriously to threaten the life of man, physically and spiritually.

THEREFORE:

We urge the nations to dispense with all testing of nuclear weapons and the production of the same; and co-operatively, to agree on satisfactory methods of inspection designed to ensure that all nations shall exercise good faith in this matter. And we urge the Baptists of the world earnestly to seek to become well informed in this field of critical concern and that they engage in unceasing prayer for that increase in the spirit of understanding and mutual trust through which peace shall become possible for all mankind.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Ohrn, Arnold T, editor. Tenth Baptist World Congress, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, June 26-July 3, 1960. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1961.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Arnold T. Ohrn, ed., Tenth Baptist World Congress, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, June 26-July 3, 1960 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), pp. 300-301.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.2 Resolution on Nuclear Testing; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1960.2).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.