Resolution zu "Konfliktmineralien"

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2011.3

IN DEM BEWUSSTSEIN, dass die östliche Region der Demokratischen Republik Kongo seit 15 Jahren in einen Krieg verwickelt ist, in dem schätzungsweise 5.400.000 Menschen durch den Krieg und seine Folgen gestorben sind und in dem jeden Monat schätzungsweise 45.000 Menschen im Ostkongo an Krankheiten und Hunger sterben, die auf den anhaltenden Konflikt zurückzuführen sind;

HORRIFIED, dass der Konflikt eine Epidemie sexueller Gewalt angeheizt hat - so sehr, dass der Ostkongo jetzt der gefährlichste Ort der Welt ist, um eine Frau oder ein Mädchen zu sein, weil bewaffnete Milizen aller Konfliktparteien Vergewaltigungen oder andere Formen des Missbrauchs als bewusste Strategie einsetzen, um die lokale Bevölkerung einzuschüchtern und zu kontrollieren; und

BESORGT, dass eine der Hauptursachen für die Gräueltaten und Konflikte im Ostkongo die Gier nach Zugang zu und Kontrolle über die riesigen Bodenschätze der Region ist, weil siebzig Prozent (70%) der Mineralien (Zinn, Wolfram, Tantal und Gold), die für Handys und Laptops benötigt werden, nur im Ostkongo gefunden werden. Wir erkennen, dass unsere Abhängigkeit von Elektronik, die diese Metalle verwendet, die Nachfrage schafft, die die Gier antreibt.

Die Generalversammlung des Baptistischen Weltbundes, die vom 4. bis 9. Juli 2011 in Kuala Lumpur tagte: BESCHLIESST folgendes:

Setzen Sie sich bei den Unternehmen, mit denen wir Geschäfte für unsere Handys und Computer machen, für konfliktfreie Lieferketten und einen konfliktfreien Bergbausektor im Ostkongo ein;

ENGAGE in Aktionen, die Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen, die mit Mineralien aus dem Ostkongo handeln, ermutigen, sich für Frieden und Gerechtigkeit in der Region einzusetzen;

ARBEIT für die Lösung des Konflikts im Ostkongo und die Beseitigung von Vergewaltigung und anderen Formen des Missbrauchs als Werkzeuge des Krieges im Ostkongo; und

APPELLIEREN an die weltweite Baptistenfamilie, für die Wiederherstellung des Friedens im Ostkongo und den angrenzenden Regionen zu beten; und an die Afrikanische Union, die Vereinten Nationen und die regionalen Regierungen, einschließlich der Regierung der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, sich mit dem Problem der "Konfliktmineralien" zu befassen und Frieden und Sicherheit in der Region des Ostkongo wiederherzustellen.

Zitate

BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3 Resolution zu "Conflict Minerals"

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2011: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2011: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011), S. 133- 134.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2011.3 Resolution zu "Konfliktmineralien"; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3

AWARE that for 15 years the eastern region of the Democratic Republic of the Congo has been embroiled in war, with an estimated 5,400,000 having died due to the war and its effects and with an estimated 45,000 dying each month in eastern Congo from disease and hunger resulting from the ongoing conflict;

HORRIFIED that the conflict has fueled an epidemic of sexual violence – so much so that eastern Congo is now the most dangerous place in the world to be a woman or a girl because armed militias from all sides of the conflict use rape or other forms of abuse as a deliberate strategy to intimidate and control local populations; and

CONCERNED that one of the primary causes of the atrocities and conflicts in eastern Congo is greed for access to, and control of, the region’s vast mineral resources because seventy percent (70%) of the minerals (tin, tungsten, tantalum, and gold) needed for cell phones and laptops are found only in eastern Congo. We recognize that our dependence upon electronics that utilize these metals creates the demand that drives the greed.

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Kuala Lumpur, July 4-9, 2011: RESOLVES to:

ADVOCATE with companies with which we do business for our cell phones and computers to work to create conflict-free supply chains and a conflict-free mining sector in eastern Congo;

ENGAGE in actions that encourage companies and individuals trading in minerals from eastern Congo to work for peace and promote justice in the region;

WORK for the resolution of the conflict in eastern Congo, and the elimination of rape and other forms of abuse as tools of war in eastern Congo; and

CALL on the worldwide Baptist family to pray for peace to be restored to eastern Congo and the adjoining regions; and on the African Union, the United Nations, and regional governments, including the government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to address the problem of “conflict minerals,” and to restore peace and security in the region of eastern Congo.

Citations

BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3 Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2011 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2011 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011), pp. 133- 134.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3 Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.