关于 "冲突矿物 "的决议

Baptist World Alliance Logo

妇女事务局总理事会第2011.3号决议

注意到刚果民主共和国东部地区陷入战争已有15年之久,估计有5 400 000人死于战争及其影响,估计刚果东部每月有45 000人死于持续冲突造成的疾病和饥饿,

感到震惊的是,冲突助长了性暴力的流行,以至于刚果东部现在是世界上作为妇女或女孩最危险的地方,因为冲突各方的武装民兵将强奸或其他形式的虐待作为一种蓄意的战略,以恐吓和控制当地居民;以及

关切刚果东部暴行和冲突的主要原因之一是贪婪地获取和控制该地区丰富的矿产资源,因为手机和笔记本电脑所需的70%的矿物(锡、钨、钽和金)只有在刚果东部才能找到。我们认识到,我们对使用这些金属的电子产品的依赖创造了需求,而需求又推动了贪婪。

世界浸信会联盟总理事会于2011年7月4日至9日在吉隆坡举行会议。决议:

与与我们有业务往来的公司一起倡导我们的手机和电脑,努力在刚果东部建立无冲突的供应链和无冲突的采矿部门。

参与鼓励从事刚果东部矿产贸易的公司和个人为该区域的和平和促进正义而努力的行动。

努力解决刚果东部的冲突,消除刚果东部作为战争工具的强奸和其他形式的虐待;以及

呼吁全世界浸礼会大家庭为刚果东部和邻近地区恢复和平祈祷;呼吁非洲联盟、联合国和区域各国政府,包括刚果民主共和国政府,解决 "冲突矿物 "问题,恢复刚果东部地区的和平与安全。

引用

BWA总理事会第2011.3号决议 关于 "冲突矿物 "的决议

原始来源参考书目:Callam, Neville, 编辑. 世界浸信会联盟2011年年鉴。总理事会会议记录和名录。 福尔斯丘奇,弗吉尼亚州:浸信会世界联盟,2011年。

原始来源脚注/尾注: Neville Callam, ed, 浸信会世界联盟2011年年鉴。总理事会会议记录和名录 (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011), pp.133-134.

在线文档全文引用。 妇女事务局总理事会第2011.3号决议 关于 "冲突矿物 "的决议; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 (妇女事务局总理事会第2011.3号决议)。

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3

AWARE that for 15 years the eastern region of the Democratic Republic of the Congo has been embroiled in war, with an estimated 5,400,000 having died due to the war and its effects and with an estimated 45,000 dying each month in eastern Congo from disease and hunger resulting from the ongoing conflict;

HORRIFIED that the conflict has fueled an epidemic of sexual violence – so much so that eastern Congo is now the most dangerous place in the world to be a woman or a girl because armed militias from all sides of the conflict use rape or other forms of abuse as a deliberate strategy to intimidate and control local populations; and

CONCERNED that one of the primary causes of the atrocities and conflicts in eastern Congo is greed for access to, and control of, the region’s vast mineral resources because seventy percent (70%) of the minerals (tin, tungsten, tantalum, and gold) needed for cell phones and laptops are found only in eastern Congo. We recognize that our dependence upon electronics that utilize these metals creates the demand that drives the greed.

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Kuala Lumpur, July 4-9, 2011: RESOLVES to:

ADVOCATE with companies with which we do business for our cell phones and computers to work to create conflict-free supply chains and a conflict-free mining sector in eastern Congo;

ENGAGE in actions that encourage companies and individuals trading in minerals from eastern Congo to work for peace and promote justice in the region;

WORK for the resolution of the conflict in eastern Congo, and the elimination of rape and other forms of abuse as tools of war in eastern Congo; and

CALL on the worldwide Baptist family to pray for peace to be restored to eastern Congo and the adjoining regions; and on the African Union, the United Nations, and regional governments, including the government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to address the problem of “conflict minerals,” and to restore peace and security in the region of eastern Congo.

Citations

BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3 Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2011 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2011 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2011), pp. 133- 134.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3 Resolution on “Conflict Minerals”; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2011.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.