Präsident

Pfr. Tomás Mackey, DMin

Tomás Mackey wurde im Juli 2020 als Präsident der Baptist World Alliance installiert und wird seine fünfjährige Amtszeit bis 2025 fortsetzen. Er ist seit mehr als 30 Jahren aktiv in der BWA tätig. Zuvor war er Mitglied des Generalrats und des Exekutivkomitees sowie Mitglied der BWA-Delegation bei den theologischen Gesprächen mit dem Päpstlichen Rat zur Förderung der Einheit der Christen und Vorsitzender der Kommission für theologische Ausbildung.

Er war außerdem stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Kommission für theologische Ausbildung, stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Kommission für christliche Ethik und Mitglied des Resolutionsausschusses, der Arbeitsgruppe für akademische und theologische Ausbildung, der Kommission für baptistische Lehre und christliche Einheit, des Exekutivausschusses für Studium und Forschung und des Nominierungsausschusses. Er war Mitglied des Local Arrangements Committee für den Jugendkongress des Baptistischen Weltbundes im Jahr 1983 und den Baptistischen Weltkongress 1995.

Mackey war aktiv in der Unión Bautista de Latinoamérica (UBLA) tätig, predigte auf zahlreichen UBLA-Kongressen und diente als Delegierter der Association of Seminaries and Theological Institutions (ASIT). Er diente als Dekan des Internationalen Baptistischen Theologischen Seminars in Buenos Aires, Argentinien, von 1993-2004 und als Professor seit 1979. Er war Vorsitzender der pastoralen Bruderschaft der Argentinischen Baptistischen Vereinigung (ABA), diente als Generalsekretär der Argentinischen Baptistischen Jugend von 1976-1978 und als Jugendberater der Argentinischen Baptistischen Jugend von 2005 bis heute.

Er war Gründungsmitglied der Alianza Cristiana de Iglesias Evangélicas de la República Argentina (ACIERA) und Gründungs- und derzeitiges Vorstandsmitglied des Sozialökumenischen Forums sowie von 1988-2004 Mitglied des Vorstands der Stiftung Kairos und von 2004-2008 Mitglied des Vorstands der Argentinischen Bibelgesellschaft.

Mackey ist seit 1978 im Pastorat tätig und hat seit 1988 die Rolle des Senior Pastors an der Iglesia Bautista del Once in Buenos Aires, Argentinien, inne. Er erwarb einen Bachelor in Theologie am International Baptist Theological Seminary in Buenos Aires, Argentinien, und einen Magister in Divinities und Doctor of Ministry am Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas, USA.

Er ist seit 1975 mit Febe verheiratet, und sie haben eine Tochter namens Jorgelina, einen Sohn namens Tomás und zwei Enkel namens Santiago und Pedro.

President

Rev. Tomás Mackey, DMin

Tomás Mackey was installed as Baptist World Alliance President in July 2020 and will continue his five-year through 2025. He has been actively involved in the BWA for more than 30 years. He has previously served on the General Council and the Executive Committee, as well as serving as a member of the BWA delegation to the theological conversations with the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and chairing the Commission on Theological Education.

He also served as Vice Chair of the Commission on Theological Education, Vice Chair of the Commission on Christian Ethics, and a member of the Resolutions Committee, Academic and Theological Education Workgroup, Commission on Baptist Doctrine and Christian Unity, Study and Research Executive Committee, and Nominations Committee. He served on the Local Arrangements Committee for the Baptist World Alliance Youth Congress in 1983 and the Baptist World Congress in 1995.

Mackey has been actively involved in Unión Bautista de Latinoamérica (UBLA), preached at numerous UBLA Congresses, and served as a delegate to the Association of Seminaries and Theological Institutions (ASIT). He served as Dean of the International Baptist Theological Seminary in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 1993-2004, and as a professor since 1979. He has chaired the pastoral fraternity for the Argentine Baptist Association (ABA), served as General Secretary of the Argentine Baptist Youth from 1976-1978, and as Youth Advisor for the Argentine Baptist Youth from 2005 until present.

He was a founding member of Alianza Cristiana de Iglesias Evangélicas de la República Argentina (ACIERA) and a founding and current member of the Board of Directors of the Social Ecumenical Forum, as well as a member of the Board of Directors of Kairos Foundation from 1988-2004 and a member of the Board of Directors of the Argentine Bible Society from 2004-2008.

Mackey has served in the pastorate since 1978 and has held the role of Senior Pastor at Iglesia Bautista del Once in Buenos Aires, Argentina, since 1988. He earned a Bachelor in Theology from the International Baptist Theological Seminary in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and a Magister in Divinities and Doctor of Ministry from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas, USA.

He has been married to Febe since 1975, and they have a daughter named Jorgelina, a son named Tomás, and two grandsons named Santiago and Pedro.