Gebet und Sorge für den östlichen Teil Europas und die Sowjetunion

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1991.2

DANKE an Gott für die positiven Veränderungen, die in Osteuropa und der gesamten Sowjetunion stattgefunden haben, einschließlich der zunehmenden Freiheit, die wir in vielen Aspekten des Lebens dieser Nationen erfahren haben,

DANKBAR vor allem für die Orte, an denen sich eine größere Religionsfreiheit herausgebildet hat und neue Möglichkeiten der Evangelisierung und theologischen Ausbildung möglich geworden sind,

Wir sind uns jedoch der Auswirkungen bewusst, die die Unruhen in dieser Region auf die gesamte Weltgemeinschaft haben, und schließen uns unseren Brüdern und Schwestern in ihrer Besorgnis über die Krisen und Umwälzungen an, die in den Sowjetrepubliken, in Jugoslawien und in anderen nationalen und ethnischen Gruppen, die nach Unabhängigkeit streben, entstanden sind,

IN DEM WUNSCH, sich mit unseren Brüdern und Schwestern in diesem Gebiet in ihrer tiefen Besorgnis über die wachsende religiöse Intoleranz der dominanten historischen Kirchen zu identifizieren, die nicht anerkennen, dass allen christlichen Konfessionen und Religionen die Religionsfreiheit durch die Verfassung garantiert wird und sie von den Mehrheitsgruppen mit Fairness, Gleichheit und Gerechtigkeit behandelt werden,

DARUM beschließt der Generalrat des Baptistischen Weltbundes, der vom 10. bis 13. Juli 1991 in Montreal, Kanada, tagte, die weltweite Gemeinschaft der Baptisten aufzurufen, sich dem Gebet für eine friedliche und authentische Lösung dieser politischen und wirtschaftlichen Umwälzungen anzuschließen und für diejenigen zu beten, die religiöse Unterdrückung erfahren, und um Gottes Eingreifen und Führung für die Führer dieser Völker in diesem entscheidenden Augenblick der Geschichte zu bitten.

ES SEI FERNER BESCHLOSSEN, dass wir die Amtsträger des Baptistischen Weltbundes und seine Mitgliedsorganisationen auffordern, den politischen und religiösen Führern diese Bedenken über religiöse

Unterdrückung in dieser Region und fordern sie auf, das ständige Recht aller Völker auf gleiche Freiheit der Religionsausübung zu achten.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Lotz, Denton, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1991: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. McLean, VA: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1991.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Denton Lotz, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1991: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (McLean, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 1991), S. 37.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1991.2 Gebet und Sorge für den östlichen Teil Europas und die Sowjetunion; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1991.2).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Prayer and Concern for the Eastern Part of Europe and the Soviet Union

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 1991.2

THANKFUL to God for the positive changes that have taken place in Eastern Europe and the whole of the Soviet Union, including the increasing freedom experienced in many aspects of the life of these nations,

THANKFUL particularly for those places where greater freedom of religion has been evidenced and new opportunities for evangelization and theological education have been made possible,

MINDFUL however, of the impact that turmoil in this region has upon the whole global community and joining with our brothers and sisters in their concern over the crises and upheavals which have been emerging in the Soviet republics, Yugoslavia and other national and ethnic groups which are striving for independence,

SEEKING to identify with our brothers and sisters in this area in their deep concern over the growing religious intolerance of the dominant historical churches that are failing to recognize that all Christian denominations and religions be guaranteed religious freedom by constitution and be treated with fairness, equality and justice by the majority groups,

THEREFORE, the General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Montreal, Canada, July 10- 13, 1991, resolves to call upon the world community of Baptists to join in prayer for a peaceful and authentic solution to these political and economic upheavals and to join in prayer for those experiencing religious repression, asking for God’s intervening grace and guidance for the leaders of these peoples at this decisive moment in history.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we call upon the officers of the Baptist World Alliance and its member bodies to communicate to the political and religious leaders these concerns over religious

repression in this region and urge them to honor the standing right of all peoples two equal freedom or religious expression.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Lotz, Denton, editor. Baptist World Alliance 1991 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. McLean, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 1991.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Denton Lotz, ed., Baptist World Alliance 1991 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (McLean, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 1991), p. 37.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 1991.2 Prayer and Concern for the Eastern Part of Europe and the Soviet Union; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 1991.2).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.