国际和平

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA世界大会决议1923.7

会议记录,第xxx-xxxi页。

142.以下关于国际和平的决议由英国伯明翰的F.C.Spurr牧师提出,由纽约的C.H.Sears牧师附议,经讨论后一致通过。

"世界浸信会联盟的成员在斯德哥尔摩举行会议,感谢地认识到在遥远的地平线上有许多希望的迹象,尽管战争的精神仍在各国之间运作。对战争的恐怖和邪恶的感觉已经深深地烙在我们教会所有成员的心里和良心上。

"大会敦促全世界所有教会成员为和平祈祷,抵制一切可能激起政府相互争斗的行为,清除所有国家教育书籍中的一切种族和民族对立,特别是在撰写历史方面,并激发人们对那些致力于解救被压迫者、治疗病人和为所有人服务的领导人的钦佩。此外,大会认为,国际教会会议以及不同民族的基督徒为了兄弟情谊和亲善而聚集在一起,将进一步推动和平事业。

"国会真诚地希望通过一个解决国际争端的代表法庭或法院,使所有国家参与合作努力以确保和平。

"本大会代表属于不同政府的数百万公民,呼吁世界各国政府为了每个国家和人民,为了人类的幸福和福祉,将维护和平作为其首要目标。"

143.以下是经决议委员会和执行委员会批准发表的备忘录,通过拉什布鲁克博士提交,以供记录:......。

"一些俄罗斯教友虽然同意决议中的所有内容,但要求增加一句话,宣布基督徒在所有条件下服兵役都是非法的。

"决议委员会无法同意他们的请求,因为这样的声明并不代表浸信会成员的普遍信念。他们对战争怀有强烈的恐惧,但并没有集体采纳不抵抗的理论。他们中一直有,而且现在仍然有,基于良心的理由反对任何形式的军事服务的人;浸礼会成员尊重这些人所表现出来的对原则的忠诚。

"国会议员满意地了解到,俄罗斯苏维埃政府接受那些出于良心和宗教原因不能在军队服役的人的替代服务"。

引用

原始来源参考书目:Whitley, W. T., 编辑。 第三届浸信会世界大会。斯德哥尔摩,1923年7月21-27日。 伦敦。Kingsgate Press, 1923.

原始来源脚注/尾注: W.T. Whitley, ed., 第三届浸信会世界大会。斯德哥尔摩,1923年7月21-27日 (London: Kingsgate Press, 1923), pp. xxx-xxxi, 有关情况的描述见第212-213页。

在线文档全文引用。 BWA世界大会决议1923.7 国际和平; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 BWA世界大会决议1923.7)。

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

International Peace

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1923.7

Minutes, pp. xxx-xxxi:

142. The following resolution on International Peace, was moved by the Rev. F. C. Spurr, of Birmingham, England, seconded by the Rev. C. H. Sears, of New York, discussed, and carried unanimously:—

“The members of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Stockholm, recognize with thankfulness that there are many signs of hope on the far horizon, in spite of the fact that the war spirit is still at work among the nations. The sense of the horror and wickedness of war has burnt itself deeply into the heart and conscience of all the members of our churches.

“The Congress urges the members of all churches throughout the world to pray for peace, to counter-work everything that is likely to provoke Governments to act against each other, to cleanse the educational books of all nations of all racial and national antagonisms, especially in the writing of history, and to kindle admiration for the leaders who devoted themselves to the deliverance of the oppressed, the healing of the diseased, and the service of all. Further, the Congress believes that the cause of peace would be furthered by international church conferences, and the meeting together of Christian people of different nationalities in the interests of brotherhood and goodwill.

“The Congress earnestly desires that all the nations should be brought into co-operative efforts to secure peace through a representative tribunal or Court for the settlement of international quarrels.

“This Congress, representing millions of citizens belonging to different Governments, appeals to the Governments of the world to make the maintenance of peace their first aim, for the sake of each nation and people, and for the sake of happiness and well-being of mankind.”

143. The following memorandum, approved for publication by the Committee on resolutions and by the Executive Committee, was presented through Dr. Rushbrooke for record :— …

“Some of the Russian brethren, while agreeing with all which the resolution contained, have asked that a sentence be added, declaring army service under all conditions unlawful for Christian men.

“The Committee on resolutions was unable to assent to their request, since such a declaration would not represent the general conviction among Baptists. They have an intense horror for war, but have not collectively adopted the doctrine of non-resistance. There have always been among them, and there are still, persons who on conscientious grounds object to any form of military service; and Baptists respect the loyalty to principle which these display.

“The members of the Congress are gratified to know that the Russian Soviet Government accepts alternative service from those who on conscientious and religious grounds are unable to serve in the army.”

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Whitley, W. T., editor. Third Baptist World Congress: Stockholm, July 21- 27, 1923. London: Kingsgate Press, 1923.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: W. T. Whitley, ed., Third Baptist World Congress: Stockholm, July 21-27, 1923 (London: Kingsgate Press, 1923), pp. xxx-xxxi, see pp. 212-213 for a description of the circumstances.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1923.7 International Peace; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1923.7).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.