Indische Baptisten predigen inmitten der Abriegelung

Apr 1, 2020 | Covid19 Antwort, Geschichten

von Brian Kaylor (Präsident, Word & Way)

Als sich das Coronavirus im zweitbevölkerungsreichsten Land der Welt auszubreiten begann, reagierte die indische Regierung am 24. März mit einer landesweiten Abriegelung, um die Ausbreitung der Pandemie in dem überfüllten Land zu verhindern - eine beunruhigende Reaktion, die für die Baptisten dort noch mehr Anforderungen an den Dienst mit sich brachte. Mitten in einem ohnehin schon herausfordernden Dienstkontext halten indische Baptisten nun auch Online-Gottesdienste und helfen Menschen, die von der Abriegelung betroffen sind.

Seit dem 1. April haben sich weltweit mehr als 928.000 Menschen mit der durch Coronaviren verursachten Atemwegserkrankung COVID-19 infiziert, und mehr als 46.000 sind gestorben. In Indien wurden etwa 2.000 Menschen positiv getestet, mehr als 55 sind gestorben. Mehr als 130 Fälle wurden gebunden zu Veranstaltungen in einer Moschee, und mehrere andere zu Wechselwirkungen mit einem Sikh-Priester. Doch angesichts der massiven Bevölkerung des Landes liegt die Infektionsrate bei nur einem pro einer Million Menschen, während die Infektionsrate in den USA bei 638 pro Million und in Italien bei 1.829 pro Million liegt.

Shillong, India, market street
Eine belebte Marktstraße in Shillong Indien (im nordöstlichen Bundesstaat Meghalaya), im Jahr 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Wort&Weg)

Obwohl die Zahl der bestätigten Fälle in Indien bisher gering ist, haben die dicht besiedelten öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel, Straßen und Märkte - zusammen mit Gebieten mit extremer Armut, in denen viele Menschen keinen ausreichenden Zugang zu Wasser haben - dazu geführt, dass Regierungsbeamte befürchten, dass sich das Virus schnell ausbreiten könnte. Modelle zum Potenzial des Ausbruchs in Indien zeigte könnte sie auf bis zu 500 Millionen Infizierte in einer Nation mit weniger als 50.000 Beatmungsgeräten und einem Viertel so vieler Krankenhausbetten pro 1.000 Personen wie in den USA ansteigen.

So ordnete Premierminister Narendra Modi, nachdem er am 22. März eine 14-stündige freiwillige Ausgangssperre gefordert hatte, zwei Tage später eine 21-tägige Abriegelung für die 1,3 Milliarden Menschen des Landes an. Die plötzliche Anordnung ließ schätzungsweise 139 Millionen Wanderarbeiter - die von ihren ländlichen Heimatorten zur Arbeit in die großen Städte reisen - ohne Transportmittel oder Einkommen stranden.

A.K. Lama, ein Baptistenführer im Nordosten Indiens, wo bisher nur wenige Fälle des Coronavirus aufgetreten sind, sagte Wort&Weg dass er, als er letzte Woche zum ersten Mal um einen Kommentar gebeten wurde, "nicht viel zu berichten hatte", weil die Stille aus einer "sehr strengen Umsetzung der Abriegelung jedes Hauses durch die örtliche Polizei resultierte."

Aber, fügte er hinzu, das änderte sich, nachdem die Regierung die Abriegelung gelockert hatte, "als Millionen von armen Wanderarbeitern auf die Straße kamen, um ihren Weg nach Hause zu finden." Die Änderungen beinhalteten die Ermutigung von Nichtregierungsorganisationen, den Wanderarbeitern zu helfen.

"Sie waren hungrig und durstig, hatten kein Geld, um etwas zu kaufen, und kein Transportmittel. Einige sind Hunderte von Meilen gelaufen, nur um auf der Straße zusammenzubrechen", erklärte Lama am 31. März. "Ich bin froh, Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass viele Baptistengemeinden diese Gelegenheit ergriffen haben, um in die Öffentlichkeit zu gehen und den Armen und Bedürftigen zu helfen. Die letzten drei Tage waren Tage der guten Werke."

Er zählte einige Beispiele aus der Nordost-Region auf, wo die meisten Baptisten in Indien leben, darunter 19 Baptistenvereinigungen, die sich mit anderen christlichen Gruppen zusammenschlossen, um 14,9 Millionen indische Rupien (umgerechnet mehr als $19.400) für die COVID-19-Hilfsmaßnahmen im indischen Bundesstaat Arunachal Pradesh zu sammeln. Lama erwähnte auch, dass die Garo Baptist Convention (Kirchen unter dem Volk der Garo, hauptsächlich im indischen Bundesstaat Meghalaya) kostenlose Masken an die Öffentlichkeit verteilte und Lebensmittel und andere lebenswichtige Güter an alle Menschen unabhängig von Religion, Ethnie oder Kaste verteilte.

"Ich bin sicher, es gibt noch andere gute Nachrichten, aber wegen der Abriegelung sind wir abgeschnitten", fügte Lama hinzu.

Der Virus und die Abriegelung haben nicht nur neue Bedürfnisse für die Gemeinden geschaffen, sondern auch dazu geführt, dass viele konfessionelle Treffen und Gottesdienste abgesagt wurden.

"Die meisten Baptistengemeinden luden ihre Mitglieder ein, am 27. März im Gebet und Fasten zu bleiben, und einige riefen am 29. März auf", sagte Lama. "Die meisten Programme und Jahresversammlungen der Baptistengemeinden im Nordosten werden während dieser Sperrzeit bis Ende April 2020 verschoben oder abgesagt. Wir leben weiterhin mit der Ungewissheit."

Guwahati Baptist Church
Guwahati Baptist Church in Guwahati, Indien (im nordöstlichen Bundesstaat Assam) im Jahr 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Wort&Weg)

Schon vor dieser Ungewissheit standen die Baptisten in Indien vor Herausforderungen als Minderheitsreligion in einem Land mit wachsendem Hindu-Nationalismus. Christen machen nur 2,3 Prozent der Bevölkerung des Landes aus, weit hinter Hindus (79,8 Prozent) und Muslimen (14,2 Prozent). In vier der acht Bundesstaaten im Nordosten Indiens stellen die Christen jedoch tatsächlich die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung - und im nordöstlichen Bundesstaat Nagaland sind mehr als 75 Prozent der Bevölkerung Baptisten, was ihn zum baptistischsten Bundesstaat oder zur baptistischsten Provinz der Welt macht.

Der religiöse Minderheitenstatus in den meisten Teilen Indiens hat Christen Verfolgung gebracht. Die U.S.-Kommission für internationale Religionsfreiheit Listen Indien als "Tier 2"-Nation (die zweitschlechteste Kategorie) und stellte fest, dass sich "in den letzten zehn Jahren die Bedingungen für religiöse Minderheiten in Indien verschlechtert haben". 2018 verweigerte die nationale Regierung dem Präsidenten des Baptistischen Weltbundes, Paul Msiza, ein Visum für einen Besuch im Nordosten Indiens.

Samuel Bontha, ein Baptistenpastor in Hyderabad im südlichen Zentralindien, wo Christen eine Minderheit sind, machte sich Gedanken über die Auswirkungen des Coronavirus in der viertgrößten Stadt Indiens (mit mehr als 6,8 Millionen Menschen). Er sagte Wort&Weg dass angesichts der großen Bevölkerung Indiens, wenn das Coronavirus hier ausbricht "wie in China oder Italien, die Todesraten unzählig sein werden und die Situation noch schlimmer sein wird."

Wie Lama erwähnte auch Bontha, wie sich die Krise auf die Kirchen auswirkt, einschließlich der Verlegung von Gottesdiensten ins Internet anstelle von persönlichen Treffen. Bontha leitet seit dem 15. März den Gottesdienst seiner Gemeinde auf Facebook Live und hält täglich Andachten dort auch.

"Die Kirchen sind seit zwei Wochen geschlossen und es wird noch einige Wochen weitergehen", schrieb er am 30. März. "Jede Kirche nutzt die von Gott gegebene Technologie, um die gute Nachricht des Evangeliums von ihren jeweiligen Orten aus zu verbreiten."

"Es findet eine große Veränderung unter den Gläubigen statt und der Ernst Gottes ist in ihr Leben gekommen. Die christliche Kirche ist heute zusammengekommen und hat alle anderen Themen verlassen, um gegen das Coronavirus zu kämpfen", fügte er hinzu. "Die Kirche hat die Verantwortung übernommen, sich strikt an die Regierung zu halten und mit ihr zusammenzuarbeiten, indem sie die Abriegelungsprinzipien befolgt und unter ihren Mitgliedern ein Bewusstsein dafür schafft, wie man sich vor dieser Pandemie schützen und Vorsichtsmaßnahmen treffen kann."

Trotz der einzigartigen Herausforderungen bleibt Bontha hoffnungsvoll.

"Wir hätten nie im Leben gedacht, dass wir solche Tage und eine solche Situation erleben würden", sagte er. "Durch die Gnade Gottes geht es uns gut."

Dieser Artikel erschien ursprünglich auf WortundWeg.org.

Indian Baptists Minister Amid Lockdown

Apr 1, 2020 | Covid19 Response, Stories

by Brian Kaylor (President, Word & Way)

As coronavirus started growing in the world’s second-most populous country, India’s government responded March 24 with a nationwide lockdown to prevent the pandemic’s spread in the congested country — a disruptive response that created even more ministry needs for Baptists there to address. In the middle of an already-challenging ministry context, Indian Baptists are now also worshiping online and helping people impacted by the lockdown.

As of April 1, more than 928,000 people globally have been infected with the COVID-19 respiratory disease caused by coronavirus, and more than 46,000 have died. In India, about 2,000 have tested positive with more than 55 dead. More than 130 cases were tied to events at one mosque, and several others to interactions with a Sikh priest. However, given the country’s massive population, it’s rate of infection is just one per one million people, while the U.S. rate of infection is 638 per million and Italy is 1,829 per million.

Shillong, India, market street
A crowded market street in Shillong India (in the Northeast state of Meghalaya), in 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Word&Way)

Although the number of confirmed cases remains low in India so far, the densely-populated public transportation, streets, and markets — along with areas of extreme poverty where many people lack adequate access to water — led government officials to fear the virus could spread quickly. Models on the outbreak’s potential in India showed it might soar to as many as 500 million people infected in a nation with fewer than 50,000 ventilators and one-fourth as many hospital beds per 1,000 persons as in the United States.

Thus, after Prime Minister Narendra Modi requested a 14-hour voluntary curfew on March 22, he two days later ordered a 21-day lockdown for the nation’s 1.3 billion people. The sudden order left an estimated 139 million migrant workers — who travel from their rural homes to work in large cities — stranded without transportation or income.

A.K. Lama, a Baptist leader in Northeast India where few cases of coronavirus have thus far emerged, told Word&Way that when first asked for comment last week he “didn’t have much to report” because of silence resulting from “a very strict implementation of lockdown of every house by the local police.”

But, he added, that changed after the government relaxed the lockdown “as millions of poor immigrant workers came out on the road to find their ways to home.” The changes included encouragement of non-governmental agencies to assist the migrant workers.

“They were hungry and thirsty with no money to buy, and no transportation. Some walked hundreds of miles only to collapse on the road,” Lama explained on March 31. “I am glad to inform you that many Baptist churches grabbed such an opportunity to come out in public to help the poor and the needy. Last three days have been days of good works.”

He listed a few examples from the Northeast region where most Baptists in India live, including 19 Baptist associations joining with other Christian groups to raise 14.9 million Indian rupees (equivalent to more than $19,400) to assist with the COVID-19 relief efforts in Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh. Lama also mentioned the Garo Baptist Convention (churches among the Garo people mostly in the Indian state of Meghalaya) distributed free masks to the public, and have been distributing food and other essential goods to everyone regardless of religion, ethnicity, or caste.

“I am sure there are other good news, but because of lockdown we are cut off,” Lama added.

In addition to creating new ministry needs for churches to address, the virus and the lockdown have also resulted in the canceling of many denominational meetings and church services.

“Most Baptist churches invited members to remain in prayers and fasting on March 27 and some called on March 29,” Lama said. “Most of the programs and annual gathering of the Baptist churches in the Northeast are postponed or canceled during this lockdown period till the end of April 2020. We continue to live with uncertainty.”

Guwahati Baptist Church
Guwahati Baptist Church in Guwahati, India (in the Northeast state of Assam) in 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Word&Way)

Even before this uncertainty, Baptists in India faced challenges as a minority faith in a country with rising Hindu Nationalism. Christians account for just 2.3 percent of the country’s population, far behind Hindus (79.8 percent) and Muslims (14.2 percent). However, Christians actually account for a majority of the population in four of the eight states in Northeast India — and Baptists are more than 75 percent of the population of the Northeast state of Nagaland, making it the most Baptist state or province in the world.

The religious minority status in most of India has brought persecution for Christians. The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom lists India as a “tier 2” nation (the second-worst category) and noted that “over the last decade, conditions for religious minorities in India have deteriorated” In 2018, the national government refused to grant a visa to Baptist World Alliance President Paul Msiza to visit Northeast India.

Samuel Bontha, a Baptist pastor in Hyderabad in south central India where Christians are a minority, offered thoughts about the impact of coronavirus from India’s fourth-largest city (with more than 6.8 million people). He told Word&Way that given India’s large population, if coronavirus erupts “like China or Italy here, the death rates will be uncountable and the situation will be worse.”

Like Lama, Bontha mentioned how the crisis is impacting churches, including moving worship online instead of in-person. Bontha has led his church’s service on Facebook Live since March 15, and has been giving daily devotionals there as well.

“The churches are been closed for the past two weeks and it will further continue for some more weeks,” he wrote on March 30. “Every church is making use of God-given technology to spread the good news of the Gospel from their respective places.”

“A great change is taking place among the believers and the seriousness of God has come into their lives. The Christian church today has come together, leaving all the other issues to fight against the coronavirus,” he added. “The church has taken responsibility to strictly follow and cooperate with the government by following the lockdown principles and to bring awareness among its members how to protect and take precautions towards this pandemic.”

Despite the unique challenges, Bontha remains hopeful.

“We never ever thought in our mind that we face a days and situation like this,” he said. “By the grace of God, we are doing well.”

This article originally appeared on WordandWay.org.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).