印度浸礼会牧师被封锁

4月 1, 2020 | Covid19回应, 故事

作者:布莱恩-凯勒(Word & Way总裁

随着冠状病毒开始在这个世界上人口最多的国家蔓延,印度政府于3月24日做出反应,在全国范围内实行封锁,以防止这种流行病在这个拥挤的国家蔓延--这种破坏性的反应为那里的浸信会成员带来了更多的事工需求。在一个已经充满挑战的事工环境中,印度浸信会信徒现在也在网上敬拜,并帮助受封锁影响的人。

截至4月1日,全球已有超过92.8万人感染了由冠状病毒引起的COVID-19呼吸道疾病,超过4.6万人已经死亡。在印度,约有2000人被检测为阳性,超过55人死亡。130多个病例是 并列的 一个清真寺的活动,以及其他几个清真寺的活动。 相互作用 与一位锡克教的牧师。然而,鉴于该国人口众多,其感染率仅为每百万人中有一人,而美国的感染率为每百万人中有638人,意大利为每百万人中有1,829人。

Shillong, India, market street
2018年,印度西隆(位于东北的梅加拉亚邦)的一条拥挤的市场街道。(Brian Kaylor/词与道)

尽管迄今为止,印度的确诊病例数量仍然很低,但人口密集的公共交通、街道和市场--以及许多人缺乏足够用水的极端贫困地区--使政府官员担心病毒可能迅速蔓延。关于印度爆发的可能性的模型 显示 在一个只有不到5万台呼吸机和每千人四分之一的医院床位的国家,它可能会飙升到多达5亿人被感染。

因此,在总理纳伦德拉-莫迪(Narendra Modi)于3月22日要求实行14小时的自愿宵禁后,两天后他下令对全国13亿人口进行为期21天的封锁。这一突如其来的命令使估计有1.39亿农民工--他们从农村老家到大城市工作--没有交通工具或收入而陷入困境。

印度东北部的浸礼会领袖A.K. Lama告诉记者,到目前为止,那里很少出现冠状病毒的病例。 词与道 上周第一次被要求发表评论时,他 "没有什么可报告的",因为 "当地警方非常严格地执行了对每家每户的封锁",导致了沉默。

但是,他补充说,在政府放松封锁后,情况发生了变化,"因为数以百万计的贫困移民工人走出来,寻找回家的路"。这些变化包括鼓励非政府机构协助移民工人。

"他们又饿又渴,没有钱买,也没有交通工具。有些人走了几百英里,却在路上倒下了,"喇嘛在3月31日解释说。"我很高兴地告诉你们,许多浸信会抓住这样一个机会,公开地出来帮助穷人和有需要的人。过去三天是做善事的日子"。

他列举了印度大多数浸信会成员居住的东北地区的几个例子,包括19个浸信会协会与其他基督教团体一起筹集了1490万印度卢比(相当于$19400多),协助印度阿鲁纳恰尔邦的COVID-19救援工作。喇嘛还提到加罗浸信会(主要在印度梅加拉亚邦的加罗人中的教会)向公众免费发放口罩,并一直在向每个人发放食品和其他必需品,不分宗教、种族或种姓。

"我相信还有其他好消息,但由于封锁,我们被切断了联系,"拉玛补充说。

除了为教会创造新的事工需求外,病毒和封锁也导致许多教派会议和教会服务被取消。

"大多数浸信会教会邀请成员在3月27日继续祈祷和禁食,一些教会在3月29日呼吁,"喇嘛说。"在这段封锁期,东北地区浸信会的大部分项目和年度聚会都被推迟或取消,直到2020年4月底。我们继续生活在不确定的情况下"。

Guwahati Baptist Church
2018年,印度古瓦哈提(位于东北部阿萨姆邦)的古瓦哈提浸信会教堂。(Brian Kaylor/词与道)

甚至在这种不确定性之前,在印度的浸礼会成员就面临着挑战,因为在一个印度教民族主义抬头的国家,他们是少数派信仰。基督徒仅占全国人口的2.3%,远远落后于印度人(79.8%)和穆斯林(14.2%)。然而,在印度东北部的八个邦中,基督徒实际上占了人口的大多数--浸礼会教徒占东北部那加兰邦人口的75%以上,使其成为世界上浸礼会教徒最多的邦或省。

印度大部分地区的宗教少数地位给基督教徒带来了迫害。美国国际宗教自由委员会 列表 印度是一个 "二级 "国家(第二差的类别),并指出,"在过去十年中,印度的宗教少数群体的条件已经恶化。"2018年,国家政府拒绝向浸信会世界联盟主席保罗-姆西扎发放访问印度东北部的签证。

Samuel Bontha是印度中南部海德拉巴的浸信会牧师,那里的基督徒是少数,他从印度的第四大城市(有680多万人口)提出了对冠状病毒影响的想法。他说 词与道 鉴于印度人口众多,如果冠状病毒爆发,"就像中国或意大利这里一样,死亡率将难以计数,情况会更糟糕"。

与拉玛一样,邦萨也提到了危机对教会的影响,包括将敬拜活动转移到网上,而不是亲临现场。自3月15日以来,邦萨在脸书直播上带领他的教会进行礼拜,并每天进行灵修。 在那里 也是如此。

"他在3月30日写道:"教会在过去两周内一直关闭,并将进一步持续几周。"每个教会都在利用上帝赋予的技术,从各自的地方传播福音的好消息"。

"信徒中正在发生巨大的变化,上帝的严肃性已经进入他们的生活。他补充说:"今天的基督教会已经走到一起,抛开所有其他问题,与冠状病毒作斗争。"教会已经承担起责任,严格遵循并配合政府的工作,遵循封锁原则,并使其成员认识到如何保护和防范这种大流行病。"

尽管存在独特的挑战,但邦萨仍然充满希望。

"我们心里从来没有想过,我们会面临这样的日子和情况,"他说。"靠着上帝的恩典,我们做得很好。"

这篇文章最初出现在 WordandWay.org.

Indian Baptists Minister Amid Lockdown

Apr 1, 2020 | Covid19 Response, Stories

by Brian Kaylor (President, Word & Way)

As coronavirus started growing in the world’s second-most populous country, India’s government responded March 24 with a nationwide lockdown to prevent the pandemic’s spread in the congested country — a disruptive response that created even more ministry needs for Baptists there to address. In the middle of an already-challenging ministry context, Indian Baptists are now also worshiping online and helping people impacted by the lockdown.

As of April 1, more than 928,000 people globally have been infected with the COVID-19 respiratory disease caused by coronavirus, and more than 46,000 have died. In India, about 2,000 have tested positive with more than 55 dead. More than 130 cases were tied to events at one mosque, and several others to interactions with a Sikh priest. However, given the country’s massive population, it’s rate of infection is just one per one million people, while the U.S. rate of infection is 638 per million and Italy is 1,829 per million.

Shillong, India, market street
A crowded market street in Shillong India (in the Northeast state of Meghalaya), in 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Word&Way)

Although the number of confirmed cases remains low in India so far, the densely-populated public transportation, streets, and markets — along with areas of extreme poverty where many people lack adequate access to water — led government officials to fear the virus could spread quickly. Models on the outbreak’s potential in India showed it might soar to as many as 500 million people infected in a nation with fewer than 50,000 ventilators and one-fourth as many hospital beds per 1,000 persons as in the United States.

Thus, after Prime Minister Narendra Modi requested a 14-hour voluntary curfew on March 22, he two days later ordered a 21-day lockdown for the nation’s 1.3 billion people. The sudden order left an estimated 139 million migrant workers — who travel from their rural homes to work in large cities — stranded without transportation or income.

A.K. Lama, a Baptist leader in Northeast India where few cases of coronavirus have thus far emerged, told Word&Way that when first asked for comment last week he “didn’t have much to report” because of silence resulting from “a very strict implementation of lockdown of every house by the local police.”

But, he added, that changed after the government relaxed the lockdown “as millions of poor immigrant workers came out on the road to find their ways to home.” The changes included encouragement of non-governmental agencies to assist the migrant workers.

“They were hungry and thirsty with no money to buy, and no transportation. Some walked hundreds of miles only to collapse on the road,” Lama explained on March 31. “I am glad to inform you that many Baptist churches grabbed such an opportunity to come out in public to help the poor and the needy. Last three days have been days of good works.”

He listed a few examples from the Northeast region where most Baptists in India live, including 19 Baptist associations joining with other Christian groups to raise 14.9 million Indian rupees (equivalent to more than $19,400) to assist with the COVID-19 relief efforts in Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh. Lama also mentioned the Garo Baptist Convention (churches among the Garo people mostly in the Indian state of Meghalaya) distributed free masks to the public, and have been distributing food and other essential goods to everyone regardless of religion, ethnicity, or caste.

“I am sure there are other good news, but because of lockdown we are cut off,” Lama added.

In addition to creating new ministry needs for churches to address, the virus and the lockdown have also resulted in the canceling of many denominational meetings and church services.

“Most Baptist churches invited members to remain in prayers and fasting on March 27 and some called on March 29,” Lama said. “Most of the programs and annual gathering of the Baptist churches in the Northeast are postponed or canceled during this lockdown period till the end of April 2020. We continue to live with uncertainty.”

Guwahati Baptist Church
Guwahati Baptist Church in Guwahati, India (in the Northeast state of Assam) in 2018. (Brian Kaylor/Word&Way)

Even before this uncertainty, Baptists in India faced challenges as a minority faith in a country with rising Hindu Nationalism. Christians account for just 2.3 percent of the country’s population, far behind Hindus (79.8 percent) and Muslims (14.2 percent). However, Christians actually account for a majority of the population in four of the eight states in Northeast India — and Baptists are more than 75 percent of the population of the Northeast state of Nagaland, making it the most Baptist state or province in the world.

The religious minority status in most of India has brought persecution for Christians. The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom lists India as a “tier 2” nation (the second-worst category) and noted that “over the last decade, conditions for religious minorities in India have deteriorated” In 2018, the national government refused to grant a visa to Baptist World Alliance President Paul Msiza to visit Northeast India.

Samuel Bontha, a Baptist pastor in Hyderabad in south central India where Christians are a minority, offered thoughts about the impact of coronavirus from India’s fourth-largest city (with more than 6.8 million people). He told Word&Way that given India’s large population, if coronavirus erupts “like China or Italy here, the death rates will be uncountable and the situation will be worse.”

Like Lama, Bontha mentioned how the crisis is impacting churches, including moving worship online instead of in-person. Bontha has led his church’s service on Facebook Live since March 15, and has been giving daily devotionals there as well.

“The churches are been closed for the past two weeks and it will further continue for some more weeks,” he wrote on March 30. “Every church is making use of God-given technology to spread the good news of the Gospel from their respective places.”

“A great change is taking place among the believers and the seriousness of God has come into their lives. The Christian church today has come together, leaving all the other issues to fight against the coronavirus,” he added. “The church has taken responsibility to strictly follow and cooperate with the government by following the lockdown principles and to bring awareness among its members how to protect and take precautions towards this pandemic.”

Despite the unique challenges, Bontha remains hopeful.

“We never ever thought in our mind that we face a days and situation like this,” he said. “By the grace of God, we are doing well.”

This article originally appeared on WordandWay.org.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).