感恩乔治-李尔的生活和事工

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA总理事会决议2013.2

BWA总理事会第2013.2号决议感谢George Liele的生活和工作。

世界浸信会联盟总理事会,2013年7月1日至6日在牙买加奥乔里奥斯举行会议。

承认乔治-李尔是美国第一位被任命的黑人浸信会牧师,也是美国黑人教会的先驱领袖。

感谢乔治-李尔,美国第一非洲浸信会的创始人和南卡罗来纳州和乔治亚州的教会领袖,他为美国的大卫-乔治、杰西-彼得斯和安德鲁-布莱恩等教会领袖以及非洲、加勒比和英国的其他教会领袖的发展做出了贡献。

注意到乔治-李尔在美国革命战争后与英国人一起撤离,虽然许多人仍然被奴役,但他选择与他的妻子汉娜和他们的四个孩子一起移民到牙买加,并在那里传教了四十多年;而且

刘易斯-李尔是第一位浸信会传教士,比威廉-凯里驶往印度早十年,比阿多尼拉姆-贾德森驶往缅甸早三十三年;以及

回顾乔治-李尔在牙买加建立了第一个浸信会教堂,其成员来自没有接触过按立的黑人福音牧师的奴隶和自由人。

赞扬乔治-李尔,他与同为美国传教士的摩西-贝克(他曾为摩西-贝克施洗)一起,与约翰-理邦博士和其他浸礼会成员保持联系,并与其他埃塞俄比亚浸礼会成员,包括凯利克牧师、托马斯-斯威格、乔治-吉布、乔治-维尼耶、库珀小姐和乔治-路易斯一起,为基督事业在牙买加人民中的蓬勃发展而努力;并且

为乔治-李尔的生活和事工向上帝表示感谢和赞美,并为这位浸信会传教士的先驱的非凡生活和遗产向上帝表示感谢。

引用

BWA总理事会第2013.7号决议 终止美利坚合众国(USA)对古巴的禁运

原始来源参考书目:Callam, Neville, 编辑. 浸信会世界联盟2013年年鉴。总理事会会议记录和名录。 福尔斯丘奇,弗吉尼亚州:浸信会世界联盟,2013年。

原始来源脚注/尾注: Neville Callam, ed, 浸信会世界联盟2013年年鉴。总理事会会议记录和名录 (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), pp.142- 143.

在线文档全文引用。 BWA总理事会决议2013.7 终止美利坚合众国(美国)对古巴的封锁; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 (BWA总理事会决议2013.7)。)

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

Gratitude for Life and Ministry of George Liele

Logo - BWA Globe (Transparent)

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.2

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.2 Gratitude for Life and Ministry of George Liele

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, July 1-6, 2013:

RECOGNIZES George Liele as the first ordained black Baptist minister in America and a pioneer leader of Black churches in the USA of America;

ACKNOWLEDGES George Liele, founder of the First African Baptist Church in America and leader of churches in South Carolina and Georgia, who contributed to the development of church leaders including David George, Jessie Peters and Andrew Bryan in USA, and others in Africa, the Caribbean and Great Britain;

NOTES that George Liele evacuated with the British after the American Revolutionary War and, while many remained enslaved, he chose to migrate to Jamaica with his wife Hannah and their four children and ministered there for over forty years; and

LAUDS George Liele as the first Baptist missionary, ten years before William Carey sailed for India and thirty-three years before Adoniram Judson sailed for Myanmar; and

RECALLS that George Liele planted the first Baptist church in Jamaica, with membership drawn from both enslaved and free persons who had not been exposed to an ordained Black minister of the Gospel;

COMMENDS George Liele who, along with fellow American missionary, Moses Baker, whom he baptized, maintained correspondence with Dr. John Rippon and other Baptists and, together with other Ethiopian Baptists, including Parson Kellick, Thomas Swigle, George Gibb, George Vineyard, Miss Cooper and George Lewis, worked for the flourishing of the cause of Christ among the Jamaican people; and

OFFERS thanks and praise to God for the life and ministry of George Liele and places on record its gratitude to God for the remarkable life and legacy of this pioneer of Baptist mission.

Citations

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7 End to United States of America (USA) Embargo on Cuba

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), pp. 142- 143.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7 End to United States of America (USA) Embargo on Cuba; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance to Host Virtual World Congress

The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is transitioning the 22nd Baptist World Congress to a fully virtual event on July 7-10, 2021. This decision was made in prayerful response to the COVID-19 global pandemic and as a result of collaborative discussions with global Baptist leaders.