Dankbarkeit für Leben und Wirken von Georg Liele

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.2

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.2 Dankbarkeit für Leben und Dienst von George Liele

Die Generalversammlung des Baptistischen Weltbundes, die vom 1. bis 6. Juli 2013 in Ocho Rios, Jamaika, tagte:

WÜRDIGT George Liele als den ersten ordinierten schwarzen Baptistenpastor in Amerika und als Pionierleiter der schwarzen Kirchen in den USA;

VERWEIST auf George Liele, den Gründer der First African Baptist Church in Amerika und Leiter von Gemeinden in South Carolina und Georgia, der zur Entwicklung von Gemeindeleitern wie David George, Jessie Peters und Andrew Bryan in den USA und anderen in Afrika, der Karibik und Großbritannien beitrug;

NIMMT ZUR KENNTNIS, dass George Liele nach dem Amerikanischen Revolutionskrieg mit den Briten evakuiert wurde und, während viele versklavt blieben, beschloss, mit seiner Frau Hannah und ihren vier Kindern nach Jamaika auszuwandern und dort über vierzig Jahre lang zu dienen; und

LAUDS George Liele als ersten baptistischen Missionar, zehn Jahre bevor William Carey nach Indien segelte und dreiunddreißig Jahre bevor Adoniram Judson nach Myanmar segelte; und

ERINNERT daran, dass George Liele die erste Baptistengemeinde in Jamaika gründete, deren Mitglieder sowohl aus versklavten als auch aus freien Personen bestanden, die noch keinen ordinierten schwarzen Geistlichen des Evangeliums erlebt hatten;

BEKRÄFTIGT George Liele, der zusammen mit seinem amerikanischen Missionskollegen Moses Baker, den er taufte, die Korrespondenz mit Dr. John Rippon und anderen Baptisten pflegte und zusammen mit anderen äthiopischen Baptisten, darunter Pfarrer Kellick, Thomas Swigle, George Gibb, George Vineyard, Miss Cooper und George Lewis, für das Aufblühen der Sache Christi unter dem jamaikanischen Volk arbeitete; und

dankt Gott für das Leben und den Dienst von George Liele und gibt seine Dankbarkeit gegenüber Gott für das bemerkenswerte Leben und Vermächtnis dieses Pioniers der baptistischen Mission zu Protokoll.

Zitate

BWA-Generalratsresolution 2013.7 Ende des Embargos der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (USA) gegen Kuba

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), S. 142- 143.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.7 Ende des Embargos der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (USA) gegen Kuba; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Gratitude for Life and Ministry of George Liele

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.2

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.2 Gratitude for Life and Ministry of George Liele

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, July 1-6, 2013:

RECOGNIZES George Liele as the first ordained black Baptist minister in America and a pioneer leader of Black churches in the USA of America;

ACKNOWLEDGES George Liele, founder of the First African Baptist Church in America and leader of churches in South Carolina and Georgia, who contributed to the development of church leaders including David George, Jessie Peters and Andrew Bryan in USA, and others in Africa, the Caribbean and Great Britain;

NOTES that George Liele evacuated with the British after the American Revolutionary War and, while many remained enslaved, he chose to migrate to Jamaica with his wife Hannah and their four children and ministered there for over forty years; and

LAUDS George Liele as the first Baptist missionary, ten years before William Carey sailed for India and thirty-three years before Adoniram Judson sailed for Myanmar; and

RECALLS that George Liele planted the first Baptist church in Jamaica, with membership drawn from both enslaved and free persons who had not been exposed to an ordained Black minister of the Gospel;

COMMENDS George Liele who, along with fellow American missionary, Moses Baker, whom he baptized, maintained correspondence with Dr. John Rippon and other Baptists and, together with other Ethiopian Baptists, including Parson Kellick, Thomas Swigle, George Gibb, George Vineyard, Miss Cooper and George Lewis, worked for the flourishing of the cause of Christ among the Jamaican people; and

OFFERS thanks and praise to God for the life and ministry of George Liele and places on record its gratitude to God for the remarkable life and legacy of this pioneer of Baptist mission.

Citations

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7 End to United States of America (USA) Embargo on Cuba

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), pp. 142- 143.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7 End to United States of America (USA) Embargo on Cuba; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.7).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.