Generalsekretär

Rev. Elijah M. Brown, PhD

Elijah Brown (USA) hat am 1. Januar 2018 seinen Dienst als Generalsekretär des Baptistischen Weltbundes angetreten und kann dabei auf seine Erfahrungen in der Wissenschaft, im kirchlichen Dienst und in der globalen Menschenrechtsarbeit zurückgreifen.

Der Generalsekretär ist der Geschäftsführer der BWA, trägt die Gesamtverantwortung für die Verwaltung und den Betrieb der Organisation und ist ihr Hauptvertreter bei weltweiten Organisationen und Institutionen, kirchlichen und weltlichen, sowie Regierungen. 

Brown engagierte sich seit 2005 in der BWA und diente der weltweiten Baptistenfamilie mehr als ein Jahrzehnt lang in verschiedenen Funktionen, unter anderem als BWA-Regionalsekretär für Nordamerika und als Generalsekretär der North American Baptist Fellowship.

Zuvor war er auch Mitglied des BWA-Generalrats, des Constitution and Bylaws Committee, des Nominations Committee, des Congress Committee, des Mission, Evangelism, and Justice Advisory Committee, der Commission on Theological Education und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Commission on Religious Liberty. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er von der BWA zu einem von 35 globalen aufstrebenden Führungskräften ernannt. 

Brown war zuvor Executive Vice President von 21Wilberforce, einer christlichen Menschenrechtsorganisation mit Sitz in Virginia, USA, und außerordentlicher Professor für Religion an der East Texas Baptist University, wo er Gründungsdirektor des Freedom Center war.

Als Sohn eines Pastors wurde Brown im Juli 2002 zum christlichen Dienst ordiniert, während er als assoziierter Pastor an der Taylor's Valley Baptist Church in Temple, Texas, arbeitete.

Brown erwarb einen Bachelor-Abschluss an der University of Mary Hardin-Baylor in Texas, USA, mit einem Doppelstudium in Religion und Geschichte sowie einen Doktortitel in Theologie mit Schwerpunkt Weltchristentum an der University of Edinburgh in Schottland.

Browns Spezialgebiete liegen in den Bereichen Menschenrechte und Religionsfreiheit. In seiner Dissertation beschäftigte er sich mit Fragen des Weltchristentums, darunter Mission und Gemeindewachstum, Friedensförderung und Konfliktlösung sowie die Interaktion von Religion und Politik.

Er hat in mehreren Ländern Forschungen durchgeführt, Schulungsveranstaltungen geleitet und Menschenrechtsarbeit geleistet. Er hat Berichte an die Vereinten Nationen und das US-Außenministerium, die US-Kommission für internationale Religionsfreiheit sowie an zahlreiche Stiftungen und Gruppen eingereicht.

Brown ist mit Amy verheiratet und ist Vater von Hudson, Sahara und Keziah.

Sehen Sie die neuesten GENERAL SECRETARY VIDEO UPDATES

General Secretary

Rev. Elijah M. Brown, PhD

Drawing from his experience in academia, church ministry, and global human rights advocacy, Elijah Brown (USA) began his ministry as Baptist World Alliance General Secretary on January 1, 2018.

The General Secretary is the CEO of the BWA, has overall responsibilities for the administration and operations of the organization, and is its chief representative to global organizations and institutions, ecclesial and secular, as well as governments. 

Brown became involved in the BWA in 2005 and served the global Baptist family in various ways for more than a decade before joining the staff, including roles as BWA Regional Secretary for North America and General Secretary for the North American Baptist Fellowship.

He also formerly served as a member of the BWA General Council; the Constitution and Bylaws Committee; the Nominations Committee; the Congress Committee; the Mission, Evangelism, and Justice Advisory Committee; the Commission on Theological Education, and as the vice-chair of the Commission on Religious Liberty. In 2007, he was named one of 35 global emerging leaders by the BWA. 

Brown was previously Executive Vice President of 21Wilberforce, a Christian human rights organization based in Virginia, USA, and associate professor of Religion at East Texas Baptist University where he was founding director of the Freedom Center.

The son of a pastor, Brown was ordained to Christian ministry in July 2002 while serving as associate pastor at Taylor’s Valley Baptist Church in Temple, Texas.

Brown earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor in Texas, USA, with a double major in religion and history, and a Ph.D. in Divinity with a focus on World Christianity from the University of Edinburgh in Scotland.

Brown’s specialties lie in human rights and religious liberty. His dissertation focused on issues related to world Christianity, including mission and church growth, peacebuilding and conflict resolution and the interaction of religion and politics.

He has conducted research on, led training events in, and did human rights advocacy work in several countries. He has submitted reports to the United Nations and the U.S. Department of State, the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom, as well as numerous foundations and groups.

Brown is married to Amy and is father to Hudson, Sahara, and Keziah.

View the latest GENERAL SECRETARY VIDEO UPDATES