Grundlegende Freiheiten

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1982.3

Seit dem Baptistischen Weltkongress in Atlanta 1939 hat sich der Baptistische Weltbund regelmäßig für die Religionsfreiheit aller Menschen und in den letzten Jahren auch für die bürgerlichen Freiheiten im Allgemeinen ausgesprochen.

Deshalb begrüßen wir die Proklamation der Erklärung über die Beseitigung aller Formen von Intoleranz und Diskriminierung aus Gründen der Religion oder der Überzeugung durch die Vereinten Nationen im November 1981. Wir fordern die Vereinten Nationen auf, mit der Ausarbeitung eines Paktes fortzufahren, der den Nationen zur Unterzeichnung und Ratifizierung angeboten werden soll und der die Erklärung in ein Gesetz umsetzen würde. Wir bitten unsere Mitgliedsgremien, die unabhängigen Regierungen zu ermutigen, sich an einem solchen Vertragsprozess zu beteiligen.

Wir nehmen mit Bedauern zur Kenntnis, dass die bestehenden Internationalen Menschenrechtspakte (und das Fakultativprotokoll) nicht die Unterstützung aller Nationen erhalten haben. Wir nehmen auch zur Kenntnis, dass es internationale Konventionen zu bestimmten Aspekten der Menschenrechte gibt, einschließlich der Konvention zur Beseitigung jeder Form von Diskriminierung der Frau, und dass diese Konventionen von allen hier vertretenen Teilorganisationen eingehalten werden. Wir bitten unsere Mitgliedsorganisationen, solche Pakte und Konventionen zu überprüfen, um die nicht ratifizierenden Regierungen zu ermutigen, ihren Beitritt dazu zu signalisieren.

Wir verkünden einmal mehr, dass der Gott, der uns das Leben gegeben hat, uns zur Freiheit berufen hat. Wir bekennen uns zu der Lehre des Neuen Testaments über die Bedeutung der Freiheit wie auch über ihre Quelle (Johannes 8,36; Galater 5).

Da wir uns auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent treffen, sind wir uns der Notwendigkeit weiterer Fortschritte bei der Beseitigung von Rassismus und Rassendiskriminierung bewusst, insbesondere dort, wo Regierungen die Grundfreiheit einer oder mehrerer Rassen in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet einschränken. Wir appellieren an alle Regierungen, Beschränkungen rassischer Art, einschließlich des Übels namens Apartheid, und solche, die die Freiheit der Meinungsäußerung, die Vereinigungsfreiheit und die Freizügigkeit einschränken, unverzüglich abzuschaffen.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Claas, Gerhard, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1982: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1982.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Gerhard Claas, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1982: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1982), S. 70.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1982.3 Grundlegende Freiheiten; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1982.3).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Fundamental Freedoms

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 1982.3

Ever since the Baptist World Congress in Atlanta in 1939 the Baptist World Alliance has spoken out with regularity on behalf of religious freedom for all persons, and in more recent years on behalf of civil liberties generally.

Therefore we welcome the proclamation by the United Nations in November 1981 of the Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Intolerance and of Discrimination based on Religion or Belief. We urge the United Nations to proceed with the drafting of a covenant, to be offered to the nations for signature and ratification, which would translate the declaration into law. We ask our member bodies to encourage the irrespective governments to participate in such a treaty-making process.

We take note with regret that the existing International Covenants on Human Rights (and optional protocol) have not obtained the support of all nations. We also note that there are international conventions on specific aspects of human rights, including the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, and that these conventions have been adhered to by all the apportioned organizations here represented. We ask our member bodies to review such covenants and conventions with a view to encouraging the non-ratifying governments to signify their adherence thereto.

We proclaim once more that the God who gave us life called us to liberty. We are committed to the teaching of the New Testament concerning the importance of freedom as well as its source (John 8:36; Galatians 5).

Meeting as we are on the Continent of Africa, we are acutely conscious of the need for further progress toward the elimination of racism and racial discrimination, particularly where governments restrict the fundamental freedom of one or more races within their jurisdiction. We appeal to all governments to promptly abolish restrictions of a racial nature including the evil called apartheid and those which restrict freedom of expression freedom of association and freedom of movement.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Claas, Gerhard, editor. Baptist World Alliance 1982 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1982.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Gerhard Claas, ed., Baptist World Alliance 1982 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1982), p. 70.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 1982.3 Fundamental Freedoms; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 1982.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.