Dr. Duke K. McCall in memoriam

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.3

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3 Dr. Duke K. McCall in Memoriam

Die Generalversammlung des Baptistischen Weltbundes, die vom 1. bis 6. Juli 2013 in Ocho Rios, Jamaika, tagte:

NIMMT ZUR KENNTNIS, dass Dr. Duke McCall der BWA diente und sie unterstützte, seit er 1931 im Alter von sechzehn Jahren die Baptistische Jugendweltkonferenz in Prag, Tschechoslowakei, besuchte;

Er erinnert sich, dass Dr. McCall 1947 in den BWA-Vorstand gewählt wurde und in vielen anderen Funktionen treu diente, wie z. B. als Mitglied des Generalrats, als Mitvorsitzender der Kommission für baptistische Lehre und als Mitglied der Kommission für Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Frieden. Er nahm auch an Ausschüssen teil, die mit der Nominierung von BWA-Kommissionsmitgliedern und der Überarbeitung der BWA-Satzung beauftragt waren;

BEGRÜSST, dass Dr. McCall 1980 auf dem 15. Baptistischen Weltkongress in Los Angeles, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika (USA), zum BWA-Präsidenten gewählt wurde. Während seiner fünfjährigen Amtszeit half er, bedeutende Entwicklungen in der Organisation zu orchestrieren. Dazu gehören:

  • Die Bildung von regionalen Fellowships in der globalen Organisation;
  • Die Einführung eines Reisestipendienfonds, um mehr baptistischen Leitern in aller Welt die Teilnahme an BWA-Treffen zu ermöglichen;
  • Die Einberufung der ersten Baptist International Conference on Theological Education im Jahr 1982;
  • Der Erwerb eines Grundstücks, das als internationales Büro der BWA in McLean, Virginia, USA, dienen soll; ERINNERT an Dr. McCall als einen baptistischen Staatsmann, dessen kreativer Geist neue Wege für konfessionelle Institutionen in den USA eröffnete, indem er den Stellenwert disziplinierter Gelehrsamkeit im Leben der Kirche und der Konfession betonte; BEWÜRDIGT die entscheidende Rolle, die Dr. McCall in der theologischen Ausbildung spielte, insbesondere während seiner Amtszeit als Präsident des Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Seine bemerkenswerten Initiativen umfassen:

- Bitte an die Ortsgemeinden, die Seminarstudenten zu zertifizieren;

- Bedeutende Neuerungen im Lehrplan der theologischen Ausbildung vornehmen;

  • Gründung des Boyce Bible College, um theologische Ausbildung für Laien anzubieten;
  • Integration schwarzer Studenten in das Southern Baptist Theological Seminary unter Verletzung des Gesetzes des Staates Kentucky, während der Bürgerrechtsbewegung in den USA;
  • Zulassung von Frauen zum Studium an der Theologischen Fakultät;
  • eine Generation von christlichen Geistlichen auszubilden und sie zu ermutigen, sich der Lehre des Wortes Gottes zu widmen, das Evangelium weiterzugeben und die volle Bedeutung des christlichen Glaubens im Dienst an der Menschheit zu leben; und DANKT für das Leben, den Dienst und das Vermächtnis von Dr. McCall und fordert Baptisten weltweit auf, in seinem Beispiel ein nachahmenswertes Modell für konfessionelle Führung und Dienst zu erkennen.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), S. 139- 140.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.3 Dr. Duke K. McCall in Memoriam; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Dr. Duke K. McCall in Memoriam

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3 Dr. Duke K. McCall in Memoriam

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, July 1-6, 2013:

NOTES that Dr. Duke McCall served and supported the BWA, from the time when, at the age of sixteen, he attended the Baptist Youth World Conference in Prague, Czechoslovakia, in 1931;

RECALLS that Dr. McCall was elected to the BWA Executive Committee in 1947 and served faithfully in many other capacities, such as: member of the General Council; co-chair of the Commission on Baptist Doctrine; and member of the Commission on Freedom, Justice and Peace. He also participated in committees charged with nominating BWA commission members and reviewing the BWA constitution;

REJOICES that Dr. McCall was elected BWA president at the 15th Baptist World Congress in Los Angeles, United States of America (USA), in 1980. During his five-year term, he helped to orchestrate significant developments in the organization. These include:

  • The formation of regional fellowships in the global organization;
  • The introduction of a travel scholarship fund to assist more Baptist leaders around the world to participate in BWA meetings;
  • The convening of the first Baptist International Conference on Theological Education in 1982;
  • The acquisition of property to serve as BWA’s international offices in McLean, Virginia, USA; REMEMBERS Dr. McCall as a Baptist statesman whose creative mind opened new pathways for denominational institutions in the USA, emphasizing the place of disciplined scholarship in the life of the church and the denomination; APPLAUDS the decisive role Dr. McCall played in theological education, especially during his tenure as president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. His notable initiatives include:

• Asking local churches to certify seminary students;

• Making significant innovations in theological education curriculum;

  • Launching the Boyce Bible College, to provide theological education for laity;
  • Integrating black students into the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in violation of Kentucky state law, during the civil rights movement in the USA;
  • Admitting women to study in the School of Theology;
  • Training a generation of Christian ministers, encouraging them to dedicate themselves to teaching the Word of God, sharing the gospel, and living out the full meaning of the Christian faith in service to humanity; and GIVES THANKS for the life, ministry and legacy of Dr. McCall and urges Baptists worldwide to discern in his example a model for denominational leadership and service worthy of emulation.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), pp. 139- 140.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3 Dr. Duke K. McCall in Memoriam; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.