Abrüstung

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1981.5

Wir sind ermutigt durch die Vorbereitungen, die jetzt für eine weitere Sonderversammlung der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen zum Thema Abrüstung getroffen werden, und erkennen die entscheidende Bedeutung dieses Themas für die Zukunft der Menschheit. Wir wenden uns mit der größtmöglichen Überzeugung an unsere eigenen Mitgliedsgremien und auch an die Vereinten Nationen und an die Regierungen der Welt, mit Entschlossenheit und Eile zu handeln, um die Bedrohungen des Friedens, die durch die Aufrüstung mit konventionellen und nuklearen Waffen entstehen, zu beseitigen.

A. An unsere Mitgliedsorgane

1. In Anerkennung der Dringlichkeit, die auf den Kongressen des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1970, 1975 und 1980 in Bezug auf die Notwendigkeit weltweiter Abrüstung zum Ausdruck gebracht wurde, und der noch größeren Dringlichkeit in der heutigen Zeit:

Wir rufen unsere Mitglieder auf, diese Angelegenheit sehr ernsthaft zu bedenken, das Verständnis für die Problematik in ihren eigenen Kreisen zu fördern und innerhalb ihrer eigenen Nationen und Staaten aktiv Verantwortung für die Erhaltung und Verbreitung des Friedens und die Reduzierung und letztendliche Beendigung der konventionellen und nuklearen Rüstung zu übernehmen.

2. Erkennen Sie das:

- Derzeit befinden sich in den Arsenalen der Welt genügend Atomwaffen, um die Erde mehrfach zu zerstören und die Absurdität der "Mutually Assured Destruction" (MAD);

- Bei der Eskalation der Produktion und der Modernisierung von Atomwaffen wurde eine neue und schreckliche Stufe erreicht;

- Baptisten haben vollen Anteil an der tiefen Sorge der Völker der Welt um den Frieden;

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1981.5

- Auf der Sondersitzung der Vereinten Nationen zur Abrüstung (UNSSD) im Jahr 1978 vereinbarten 149 Nationen der Welt durch ihre Regierungsvertreter, die sich für "Allgemeine und vollständige Abrüstung" einsetzen, und

- Der zweite UNSSD soll im Juni 1982 stattfinden.
Wir fordern die Mitgliedsorganisationen des Baptistischen Weltbundes auf, die Überlegungen der Vereinten Nationen zu studieren

und die Ziele der Bewegungen für weltweite Abrüstung zu kennen und entsprechende Maßnahmen zu ergreifen.

B. An die Vereinten Nationen und an die Regierungen

1. In der Erkenntnis, dass das Wettrüsten die natürlichen Ressourcen der Welt erschöpft, Fähigkeiten und Materialvorräte von der Linderung von Hunger, Armut und Krankheit ablenkt, die Inflation verschlimmert und die Welt in die große Gefahr eines Holocausts bringt, bei dem die gesamte Menschheit der Verlierer wäre:

Wir fordern die multilaterale Einstellung der Produktion von Rüstungsgütern, konventionellen und nuklearen, offensiven und defensiven, für mindestens ein Jahrzehnt; die Einstellung der Forschung und Entwicklung von Atomwaffen und neuen Formen von Waffen und Waffenträgersystemen und die Vermeidung jeglicher Bewaffnung von Flugzeugen.

2. In der Erkenntnis, dass die Kriegsgefahr die größte Gefahr ist, der sich die Welt heute gegenübersieht, und in Kenntnis des Widerwillens der Atomwaffenstaaten, einer Konvention zur Begrenzung von Atomwaffen zuzustimmen:

Wir verurteilen die Torheit, sich, wie derzeit, auf das Konzept der "Mutually Assured Destruction" zu verlassen.

Wir behaupten, dass der Einsatz von Atomwaffen kein Grund für Sicherheit ist und ebenso verabscheuungswürdig ist wie bakteriologische oder chemische Kriegsführung, die seit dem Genfer Protokoll von 1925 als unzivilisiert verurteilt werden.

Wir empfehlen, dass jeder der Atomwaffenstaaten als Zeichen seiner Integrität zu einer Abrüstungskonferenz kommt, indem er jeweils eine Atomwaffe demontiert, und zwar schon vor den Diskussionen.

Wir empfehlen weiter, dass jede der schwer bewaffneten Mächte aufgefordert wird, auf jedes Ziel zu verzichten, die Welt mit ihren politischen, wirtschaftlichen oder sozialen Systemen zu dominieren.

Wir fordern die beiden großen nuklearen Weltmächte, die USA und die UdSSR, in den Personen ihrer ernannten Führer auf, sich ernsthaft um ein möglichst baldiges Treffen zu bemühen, um dem Rest der Welt ihre Bereitschaft zu demonstrieren, die Spannungen in der Welt abzubauen, indem sie gemeinsam in praktischer Weise ihr besonderes Engagement für Abrüstung und Weltfrieden zeigen.

3. Die Erkenntnis, dass bestimmte grundlegende Hauptprobleme umfassender als bisher behandelt werden müssen, wenn Abrüstungsgespräche erfolgreich sein sollen:

Wir bitten darum, dass ein ernsthafter Versuch unternommen wird,

Erstens, die Atomwaffenstaaten davon zu überzeugen, dass ihr Besitz solcher Waffen nicht zu ihrer Sicherheit beiträgt, sondern eine Quelle der Unsicherheit ist, für sie selbst und für andere;

Zweitens, den Nicht-Kernwaffenstaaten eine vernünftige Form der Sicherheit gegen den Einsatz oder die Androhung von Kernwaffen zu geben;

Drittens, im Westblock die öffentlichen und politischen Bildungsanstrengungen des militärisch-industriellen Komplexes zu kompensieren, um die Öffentlichkeit davon zu überzeugen, dass das Rüstungsgeschäft weitergehen muss;

Viertens, ebenfalls in den planwirtschaftlichen Ländern, die Planer zu ermutigen, die Prioritäten so umzustellen, dass sie durch die Unterordnung der Rüstung zum Wirtschaftswachstum beitragen.

4. 4. in der Erkenntnis, dass die Verpflichtung zu Abrüstung und Frieden mit der Verpflichtung einhergehen sollte, die Beseitigung der Konfliktursachen anzustreben, und dass sich solche Ursachen oft um wahrgenommene Ungerechtigkeiten und/oder den Mangel an Grundfreiheiten drehen:

Wir ermutigen die Vereinten Nationen und die Staaten der Welt, Ziele wie eine gerechte Wirtschafts- und Sozialordnung, das Prinzip der Selbstbestimmung bei territorialen Streitigkeiten sowie die Beseitigung aller Formen der Diskriminierung rassischer, ethnischer und religiöser Minderheiten mit Nachdruck zu verfolgen, in der Überzeugung, daß Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit Ziele sind, die am besten gemeinsam erreicht werden können, und daß Fortschritte auf dem Weg zu Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit Fortschritte auf dem Weg zum Frieden fördern werden.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Claas, Gerhard, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1981: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1981.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Gerhard Claas, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 1981: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Washington, DC: Baptistischer Weltbund, 1981), S. 40-41.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 1981.5 Abrüstung; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Disarmament

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 1981.5

We are encouraged by preparations now being made for another Special Assembly of the U.N. General Assembly on the subject of disarmament and recognize the crucial importance of this subject for the future of mankind. We address ourselves with the strongest possible conviction to our own member bodies and also to the United Nations and to the governments of the world to act with determination and expedition to eradicate threats to peace created by the building up of armaments, both conventional and nuclear.

A. To our Member Bodies

1. Recognizing the urgency expressed by the Baptist World Alliance Congresses of 1970, 1975 and 1980 in respect of the need for world disarmament and the even greater urgency at this present time:

We call upon our member bodies to give most serious consideration to this matter, to promote understanding of the issues among their own constituencies and to take active responsibility within their own nations and states to preserve and propagate peace and to effect the reduction and ultimate cessation of armaments, both conventional and nuclear.

2. Recognizing that:

• There is sufficient nuclear weaponry at present in the world’s arsenals to destroy the earth several times over and the absurdity of “Mutually Assured Destruction” (MAD);

• A new and terrible stage has been reached in the escalation of both production and modernization of nuclear weaponry;

• Baptists share fully in the deep concern expressed by the peoples of the world for peace;

BWA General Council Resolution 1981.5

• At the United Nations Special Session on Disarmament (UNSSD) in 1978, 149 nations of the world agreed through their Government representatives who work for “General and complete disarmament, ” and

• The second UNSSD is to take place in June 1982.
We urge the member bodies of the Baptist World Alliance to study the deliberations of the United Nations

and the aims of movements for world disarmament and to take appropriate action.

B. To the United Nations and to Governments

1. Recognizing that the armaments race depleted the world’s natural resources, diverts skills and material supplies from alleviating hunger, poverty and disease, aggravates inflation and places the world in the grave danger of a holocaust in which all humankind would be the loser:

We urge the multilateral cessation, for at least a decade, of armaments production, conventional and nuclear, offensive and defensive; the cessation of research and development in nuclear arms and in new forms of weaponry and weapon delivery systems and the avoidance of any arming of aircraft.

2. Recognizing that the threat of war is the greatest peril facing the world today and noting the reluctance of nuclear weapon states to agree to a convention of limit nuclear weapons:

We condemn the folly of relying, as at present, on the concept of “Mutually Assured Destruction.”

We assert that the use of nuclear weapons is no ground for security and is as abhorrent as bacteriological or chemical warfare which have been condemned as uncivilized since the Geneva Protocol of 1925.

We recommend that each of the nuclear weapon states provide a token of their integrity in coming to a disarmament conference by disassembling one nuclear weapon each, even prior to discussion.

We further recommend that each of the heavily armed powers by asked to renounce any aim of dominating the world with its political, economic or social systems.

We urge that the two great nuclear world powers, the USA and the USSR, in the persons of their appointed leaders, earnestly seek as soon as possible a meeting to demonstrate to the rest of the world their readiness to reduce world tension by exhibiting together in a practical way their specific commitment to disarmament and world peace.

3. Recognizing that certain basic major problems need to be addressed more fully than heretofore if disarmament discussions are to succeed:

We ask that s serious attempt be made,

First, to convince the nuclear weapon states that their possession of such weapons does not contribute to their security but is a source of insecurity, for themselves and for others;

Second, to provide to the non-nuclear weapon states some reasonable form of assurance against the use or threat of nuclear weapons;

Third, in the western bloc to offset the public and political educational efforts of the military-industrial complex to persuade the public that the armaments business must continue;

Fourth, equally in the planned economy countries, to encourage planners to rearrange priorities in such a way that, by subordinating armaments, their priorities will contribute to economic growth.

4. Recognizing that the commitment to disarmament and peace should be matched by the commitment to seek the removal of the causes of conflict and that such causes often center around perceived injustices and/or lack of fundamental freedoms:

We encourage the United Nations and the States of the world to pursue with vigor such goals as a just economic and social order land the principle of self-determination in territorial disputes, along with the elimination of all forms of discrimination against racial, ethnic and religious minorities, in the belief that peace, justice and freedom are goals which can best to achieved together and progress toward justice and freedom will encourage progress toward peace.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Claas, Gerhard, editor. Baptist World Alliance 1981 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1981.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Gerhard Claas, ed., Baptist World Alliance 1981 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Washington, DC: Baptist World Alliance, 1981), pp. 40-41.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 1981.5 Disarmament; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance to Host Virtual World Congress

The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is transitioning the 22nd Baptist World Congress to a fully virtual event on July 7-10, 2021. This decision was made in prayerful response to the COVID-19 global pandemic and as a result of collaborative discussions with global Baptist leaders.