Bilaterale Dialoge

Bilaterale Dialoge

Zu den Zielen, die in der Verfassung und Satzung des Baptistischen Weltbundes umrissen sind, gehört, dass der BWA "unter der Leitung des Heiligen Geistes" das "Verständnis und die Zusammenarbeit unter den baptistischen Körperschaften und mit anderen christlichen Gruppen fördern will, in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Einheit in Christus."

Ein Ausdruck dieses Ziels sind die bilateralen Dialoge mit anderen christlichen Weltgemeinschaften. Beispiele sind...

Baptistisch-katholischer Dialog

Der Baptistisch-Katholische Internationale Dialog ist eine Reihe von strategischen ökumenischen Gesprächen zwischen dem Baptistischen Weltbund (BWA) und dem Päpstlichen Rat zur Förderung der Einheit der Christen. 

Die Versammlung 2019 wurde von der BWA-Mitgliedsorganisation, dem Baptistenbund von Polen, im Warschauer Baptistischen Theologischen Seminar in Warschau, Polen, ausgerichtet und war die dritte Sitzung der dritten Phase der internationalen Gespräche zwischen Baptisten und Katholiken. Frühere Dialoge fanden von 1984-1988 und von 2006-2010 statt.

Die Gemeinsame Baptistisch-Katholische Kommission wird bis 2021 jährlich tagen. Das vierte Treffen wird vom Päpstlichen Rat zur Förderung der Einheit der Christen in Rom, Italien, vom 7. bis 11. Dezember 2020 ausgerichtet. Das Thema wird sein: "Formen des gemeinsamen Zeugnisses".

Auf dem Bild sind Papst Franziskus, Rev. Dr. Frank Rees (baptistischer Ko-Vorsitzender), Bischof Arthur Serratelli (katholischer Ko-Vorsitzender) während eines Treffens der baptistisch-katholischen Internationalen Gemeinsamen Kommission im Dezember 2018. 

Baptistisch-methodistischer Dialog


Der internationale Dialog zwischen dem Baptistischen Weltbund und dem Weltrat der Methodisten begann 2014 und dauerte bis 2017. Er wurde gemeinsam geleitet von Pfr. Dr. Tim Macquiban, dem Direktor des methodistischen Ökumenischen Büros (Rom, Italien) und Pfr. Dr. Curtis Freeman, Forschungsprofessor und Direktor des Baptist House of Studies an der Duke University Divinity School (Durham, North Carolina, USA). Der mehrjährige Dialog konzentrierte sich auf das Thema "Faith Working Through Love" und gipfelte in einem Abschlussbericht und einem Studienleitfaden, die unten verlinkt sind.

Im Bild sind Vertreter des Baptistischen Weltbundes und des Methodistischen Weltrates während des Abschlusstreffens des internationalen Dialogs im März 2018 im Sarum College, Salisbury, England.

Ähnliche Initiativen in der baptistischen Geschichte umfassen einen mehrjährigen Dialog zwischen der BWA und dem Päpstlichen Rat zur Förderung der Einheit der Christen von 2006-2010, der Anglikanischen Gemeinschaft von 2000-2005, der Mennonitischen Weltkonferenz von 1989-1992, dem Lutherischen Weltbund von 1986-1989, der Katholischen Kirche von 1984-1988 und dem Reformierten Weltbund von 1973-1977.

Bilateral Dialogues

Bilateral Dialogues

As part of the objectives outlined in the Baptist World Alliance Constitution and Bylaws, the BWA “under the guidance of the Holy Spirit” seeks to “promote understanding and cooperation among Baptist bodies and with other Christian groups, in keeping with our unity in Christ.”

One expression of this objective is through bilateral dialogues with other Christian World Communions. Examples include…

Baptist-Catholic Dialogue

The Baptist-Catholic International Dialogue is a series of strategic ecumenical conversations between the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) and the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity. 

The 2019 assembly was hosted by BWA’s member body, the Baptist Union of Poland, at the Warsaw Baptist Theological Seminary in Warsaw, Poland, and represented the third session of the third phase of international conversations between Baptists and Catholics. Previous dialogues occurred from 1984-1988 and from 2006-2010.

The Baptist-Catholic Joint Commission will meet annually through 2021 with the fourth gathering to be hosted by the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity in Rome, Italy, from December 7-11, 2020. The theme will be “Forms of Common Witness.

Pictured are Pope Francis, Rev. Dr. Frank Rees (Baptist Co-Chair), Bishop Arthur Serratelli (Catholic Co-Chair) during a meeting of the Baptist-Catholic International Joint Commission in December 2018. 

Baptist-Methodist Dialogue

The international dialogue between the Baptist World Alliance and World Methodist Council began in 2014 and continued through 2017. It was co-chaired by Rev. Dr. Tim Macquiban, the Director of the Methodist Ecumenical Office (Rome, Italy) and Rev. Dr. Curtis Freeman, Research Professor and Director of the Baptist House of Studies at Duke University Divinity School (Durham, North Carolina, USA). The multi-year dialogue centered on the theme “Faith Working Through Love” and culminated in a final report and study guide linked below.

Pictured are representatives of the Baptist World Alliance and the World Methodist Council during the final meeting of the international dialogue in March 2018 at Sarum College, Salisbury, England.

Similar initiatives in Baptist history include a multi-year dialogue between the BWA and the Anglican Communion from 2000-2005, the Mennonite World Conference from 1989-1992, and the Lutheran World Federation from 1986-1989.