Karibischer Gerichtshof

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.9

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9 Karibischer Gerichtshof

Der Generalrat des Baptistischen Weltbundes traf sich vom 1. bis 6. Juli 2013 in Ocha Rios, Jamaika:

NIMMT ZUR KENNTNIS, dass englischsprachige karibische Nationen den Wunsch geäußert haben, die Rechtspraxis abzuschaffen, Berufungen von karibischen Gerichten an den Privy Council des Vereinigten Königreichs zu richten, und zwar aus Sorge um die politische Identität, Selbstbestimmung und nationale Souveränität;

ERKENNT AN, dass der Grundsatz eines Karibischen Gerichtshofs (CCJ), der als letzte Berufungsinstanz in der Karibik dienen soll, 1947 festgelegt wurde und dass Berufungen an britische Gerichte den Zugang zur Justiz aufgrund von Visabestimmungen und erheblichen Kosten, die mit Reisen und dem Erwerb eines Rechtsbeistands im Vereinigten Königreich verbunden sind, einschränken;

STELLT fest, dass der Karibische Gerichtshof nach langen Beratungen unter den Mitgliedstaaten der Karibischen Gemeinschaft und des Gemeinsamen Marktes (CARICOM) im Jahr 2005 eingerichtet wurde, um für die Karibische Gemeinschaft ein zugängliches, faires, effizientes und unparteiisches Gerichtssystem auf der Grundlage einer Rechtsprechung zu schaffen, die die Geschichte, die Werte und die Traditionen der Mitgliedstaaten widerspiegelt, und gleichzeitig eine unabhängige Institution zu erhalten, die das Vertrauen der Bevölkerung genießt und von den Gerichten der Region nachgeahmt werden kann;

IST sich bewusst, dass der CCJ über eine ursprüngliche Zuständigkeit in Bezug auf die Auslegung und Anwendung des Vertrags zur Gründung der Karibischen Gemeinschaft sowie über eine Berufungszuständigkeit verfügt und dass derzeit nur Barbados, Guyana und Belize den CCJ als höchstes Berufungsgericht in Strafsachen nutzen;

STELLT sich an die Seite der Caribbean Baptist Fellowship in ihrer Unterstützung für den CCJ als letzte Berufungsinstanz unter den Mitgliedsstaaten der CARICOM.

Zitate

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9 Karibischer Gerichtshof

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2013: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), S. 144.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2013.9 Karibischer Gerichtshof; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Caribbean Court of Justice

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9 Caribbean Court of Justice

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance meeting in Ocha Rios, Jamaica, July 1-6, 2013:

NOTES that English-speaking Caribbean nations have expressed a desire to eliminate the legal practice of making appeals from Caribbean courts to the Privy Council of the United Kingdom, based on concerns for political identity, self-determination and national sovereignty;

ACKNOWLEDGES that the principle of a Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to serve as the Caribbean final appellate jurisdiction was established in 1947 and that appeal to British courts limits accessibility to justice, owing to visa requirements and significant costs associated with travel and acquiring legal counsel in the United Kingdom;

OBSERVES that, after much deliberation among member states of the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM), the Caribbean Court of Justice was established in 2005 to provide for the Caribbean Community an accessible, fair, efficient and impartial court system on a jurisprudence reflective of the history, values and traditions of member states while maintaining an independent institution worthy of the trust and confidence of the people and of emulation by the courts of the region;

UNDERSTANDS that the CCJ is vested with an original jurisdiction in respect of the interpretation and application of the Treaty establishing the Caribbean Community, as well as an appellate jurisdiction and , at this time, only Barbados, Guyana and Belize use the CCJ as the highest criminal court of appeal;

STANDS ALONGSIDE the Caribbean Baptist Fellowship in its support for the CCJ as the final appellate jurisdiction among member states of CARICOM.

Citations

BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9 Caribbean Court of Justice

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2013 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2013), p. 144.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9 Caribbean Court of Justice; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2013.9).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.