BWA verleiht dem Kongress den fünfzehnjährigen Menschenrechtspreis

Raúl Scialabba wird für sein lebenslanges Engagement geehrt
Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

ZUR SOFORTIGEN FREIGABE

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA - 10. Juli 2021)

In Verbindung mit dem 22undBaptistischen Weltkongresses verlieh die Baptistische Weltallianz (BWA) den "2020 Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award" an Raúl Scialabba. Die BWA hat eine lange Geschichte des Eintretens für Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit. 

Dr. Raúl Scialabba ist seit seiner Kindheit in das Leben der Baptistengemeinden eingebunden und war jahrzehntelang eine Führungspersönlichkeit innerhalb des Baptistischen Weltbundes, unter anderem als BWA-Vizepräsident und Mitglied zahlreicher Exekutivkomitees. Er diente auch in der BWA-Kommission für Religionsfreiheit, der Kommission für Freiheit und Gerechtigkeit und der Sonderkommission für Baptisten gegen Rassismus. Derzeit dient er als Treuhänder für das 21Wilberforce Global Freedom Center der BWA. 

Dr. Scialabba ist ein Verteidiger der Religionsfreiheit in Argentinien und in ganz Lateinamerika gewesen. Er war nicht nur eine Stimme für Baptisten in verschiedenen Bereichen der argentinischen Landesregierung, sondern half auch bei der Gründung und Leitung von CALIR, Consejo Argentino para la Libertad Religiosa (Argentinischer Rat für Religionsfreiheit). Im Jahr 2019 setzte er sich gemeinsam mit BWA-Generalsekretär Elijah Brown für die Befreiung von Gregory José Pérez, dem Geschäftsführer der Unión Nacional Bautista de Jóvenes de Venezuela, ein, der vom Maduro-Regime zu Unrecht inhaftiert wurde. Neben seinen juristischen Bemühungen sammelte Dr. Scialabba Spenden für "Arepitas de Vida", einen Dienst, der Mahlzeiten und Ressourcen für Tausende von bedürftigen Kindern in Venezuela bereitstellt.  

"Es ist mir wirklich eine Ehre, eine neue Führungspersönlichkeit in diesem Erbe der Menschenrechtsarbeit willkommen zu heißen", sagte Tomбs Mackey, BWA-Präsident. "Es ist etwas ganz Besonderes für mich, weil mich eine lange Freundschaft mit diesem Mann verbindet und ich die Auswirkungen seines Lebens und seines Dienstes aus erster Hand miterlebt habe." 

Als Vertreter von CALIR nahm Dr. Scialabba sowohl 2018 als auch 2019 am Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom Forum teil, einer internationalen Veranstaltung, die Hunderte von Regierungsvertretern, religiösen Führern, Überlebenden religiöser Verfolgungen und Mitgliedern der Zivilgesellschaft zur Förderung der Religionsfreiheit versammelte.  

Bei der Entgegennahme des Preises sagte Scialabba: "Letztlich ist unser Wunsch nach Religionsfreiheit nicht mehr und nicht weniger als unser Wunsch, unserem Herrn Jesus Christus treu zu folgen. Als Baptisten müssen wir unser Engagement für die Religionsfreiheit hochhalten, die seit mehr als 400 Jahren zu unseren Standards gehört. Wir müssen als Baptisten die Stimme der Stimmlosen sein."

Der Preis wird alle fünf Jahre verliehen. Zu den bisherigen Preisträgern gehören Corneille Gato Munyamasoko (Ruanda), Denton Lotz (USA), Lauran Bethell (USA), Saw Simon (Myanmar) und der ehemalige US-Präsident Jimmy Carter (USA).

###

Klicken Sie auf das Bild oben, um eine Video der Preisverleihung in englischer Sprache.

Klicken Sie zum siehe das Video der Preisverleihung auf Spanisch.

Preisträger des 2020 Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award Raúl Scialabba

Der Baptistische Weltbund wurde 1905 gegründet und ist eine Gemeinschaft von 241 Konventen und Bünden in 126 Ländern und Territorien mit 47 Millionen getauften Gläubigen in 169.000 Gemeinden. Seit mehr als 100 Jahren vernetzt der Baptistische Weltbund die baptistische Familie, um die Welt für Christus zu verändern, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu unterstützen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leiterschaftsentwicklung zu fördern.

Medienkontakt:
J. Merritt Johnston
Direktor für Kommunikation & Medien
E-Mail: communications@baptistworld.org

Neueste Nachrichten

Neue Mitarbeiter im Horizons-Team

Als Reaktion auf das beträchtliche regionale Wachstum der Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative freut sich die Baptist World Alliance (BWA), die Aufnahme von drei neuen Teammitgliedern bekannt zu geben. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe wird als Gebietsleiter für BWA Horizons Afrika tätig sein, und Baptist John Jaya Prakash wird als Gebietsleiter für Indien (Region Telangana) tätig sein.

Baptistische Weltallianz fordert gerechte Verteilung von Impfstoffen

Als Reaktion auf das beträchtliche regionale Wachstum der Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative freut sich die Baptist World Alliance (BWA), die Aufnahme von drei neuen Teammitgliedern bekannt zu geben. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe wird als Gebietsleiter für BWA Horizons Afrika tätig sein, und Baptist John Jaya Prakash wird als Gebietsleiter für Indien (Region Telangana) tätig sein.

Baptistische Weltallianz ernennt BWAid-Direktor

Zu Ehren von Martin Luther King Jr. und seinem prophetischen Zeugnis ruft der Baptistische Weltbund (BWA) die weltweite Familie auf, zu beten und sich weiterhin für Rassengerechtigkeit einzusetzen. Teil der laufenden Reaktion des BWA ist die Bildung einer Aktionsgruppe für Rassengerechtigkeit.

BWA Presents Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award

Raúl Scialabba Honored for Lifetime of Advocacy
Baptist World Alliance Logo

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA – July 10, 2021)

In conjunction with the 22ndBaptist World Congress, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) presented the 2020 Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award to Raúl Scialabba. The BWA has a long history of advocating for religious freedom, human rights, and justice. 

Dr. Raúl Scialabba has been involved in the life of Baptist churches since his childhood and has been a leader within the Baptist World Alliance for decades, including service as a BWA Vice President and a member of numerous executive committees. He also served on the BWA Commission on Religious Freedom, the Freedom and Justice Commission, and the Special Commission on Baptists Against Racism. He is currently serving as a trustee for the BWA’s 21Wilberforce Global Freedom Center. 

Dr. Scialabba has been a defender of religious freedom in Argentina and throughout Latin America. In addition to being a voice for Baptists in different areas of the Argentine national government, he helped create and lead CALIR, Consejo Argentino para la Libertad Religiosa (Argentine Council for Religious Freedom). In 2019, he worked in conjunction with BWA General Secretary Elijah Brown to liberate Gregory José Pérez, Executive Director of Unión Nacional Bautista de Jóvenes de Venezuela, who was unjustly incarcerated by the Maduro regime. Alongside his legal efforts, Dr. Scialabba raised funds for “Arepitas de Vida,” a ministry providing meals and resources for thousands of needy children in Venezuela.  

“It is truly my honor to welcome a new leader to this legacy of leadership in the area of human rights,” said Tomбs Mackey, BWA President. “It is particularly special to me because of the long friendship I have shared with this man and the impact of his life and ministry that I have witnessed firsthand.” 

As a representative of CALIR, Dr. Scialabba participated in the Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom Forum in both 2018 and 2019, an international event which gathered hundreds of government representatives, religious leaders, survivors of religious persecutions, and members of civil society for the advancement of religious freedom.  

When accepting the award, Scialabba said, “Ultimately our desire for religious freedom is nothing more or less than our desire to faithfully follow our Lord Jesus Christ. As Baptists we must treasure our commitment to religious liberty, which has been one of our standards for more than 400 years. We must be, as Baptists, the voice of the voiceless.”

Awarded every five years, previous recipients include Corneille Gato Munyamasoko (Rwanda), Denton Lotz (USA), Lauran Bethell (USA), Saw Simon (Myanmar), and former U.S. President Jimmy Carter (USA).

###

Click the image above to see a video of the award presentation in English.

Click to view the video of the award presentation in Spanish.

2020 Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award Recipient Raúl Scialabba

The Baptist World Alliance, founded in 1905, is a fellowship of 241 conventions and unions in 126 countries and territories comprising 47 million baptized believers in 169,000 churches. For more than 100 years, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Media Contact:
J. Merritt Johnston
Director of Communications & Media
Email: communications@baptistworld.org

Latest News

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.