世界浸信会联盟欢迎来自加勒比的新成员。

圣基茨浸信会成为第241个成员机构
Baptist World Alliance Logo

即时发布

(弗吉尼亚州FALLS CHURCH - 2020年7月24日)

在本周举行的2020年世界浸信会联盟(BWA)虚拟总理事会上,理事会成员一致表决通过了圣基茨浸信会的会员申请。该协会位于圣基茨和尼维斯联邦,是这个有115年历史的组织中的第241个成员机构。

圣基茨浸信会成立于1964年,于2010年恢复,有600名会员,分布在三个教堂,大会办公室位于圣基茨的巴斯特尔。他们的领导层包括协会主席Lincoln D. Connor和总书记Michael Penny。

"圣基茨浸信会是一个充满活力的信徒团体,他们一直在加勒比海浸信会团契中提供出色的领导,"浸信会会员委员会主席Roy Medley说。"会员委员会欢迎他们有兴趣加入,并非常高兴地看到浸信会的全球团契因他们的加入而扩大"。

作为申请过程的一部分,该协会提交了证明文件,其中包括信仰声明、组织历史以及他们在加勒比浸信会团契(CBF)中的成员资格文件,该团契是妇女事务局六个区域团契之一。

"我很高兴知道圣基茨浸信会已被接纳为世界浸信会联盟的成员机构,"CBF执行秘书兼财务主管和浸信会联盟综合使命主任埃弗顿-杰克逊说。"这个加勒比海国家的浸信会成员在整体服务方面有着悠久的历史,为其教徒和广大社区成员的精神和物质需求提供服务。我相信,在成为全球浸信会大家庭的一员后,他们将与全世界的浸信会成员合作,共同完成综合使命。

图为圣基茨浸信会协会主席、安提阿浸信会教堂的牧师林肯与他的会众在一起做礼拜。安蒂奥克浸信会是圣基茨浸信会中的三个教会之一。

新加入的成员机构通常是在BWA年度聚会上介绍和庆祝的。然而,由于COVID-19的大流行,浸礼会总理事会不得不过渡到一个虚拟的认可。尽管情况具有挑战性,但康纳主席转达了他对有机会在此时和未来与全球浸信会成员一起服务的兴奋之情。

"我们很高兴正式成为世界浸信会联盟的成员。作为一个地方性的聚会,我们相信当我们与全球各地的兄弟姐妹合作和团契时,会有更大的影响空间。康纳说:"世界浸信会联盟的成员资格反映了上帝王国的多样性(启示录7:9)。

在2015-2020年的五年期内,会员委员会带领大家努力欢迎来自9个国家的9个新会员机构加入妇女事务局。

"浸礼会总书记伊莱亚-布朗说:"看到上帝如何使我们的全球浸礼会大家庭不断壮大,我们现在横跨126个国家和地区,这令人激动。"我们期待着与圣基茨浸信会一起合作,完成我们为基督影响世界的使命"。

###

世界浸礼会联盟成立于1905年,是一个由126个国家和地区的241个大会和联盟组成的联盟,由169 000个教会的4 700万受洗信徒组成。100多年来,世界浸礼会联盟将浸礼会大家庭联系在一起,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;推动神学思考和领导力发展。

媒体联系:
J.Merritt Johnston
传播与媒体总监
电子邮件:communications@baptistworld.org

最新资讯

BWA支持美国大使的提名

浸信会世界联盟(BWA)在该部长期倡导宗教自由的基础上,支持提名拉沙德-侯赛因为新任美国国际宗教自由无任所大使的人选。

地平线团队增加新员工

为回应地平线儿童和青年事工培训倡议在区域的大幅增长,浸礼会世界联盟(BWA)高兴地宣布增加三名团队成员。Koffi Soké Kpomgbe将担任浸信会世界联盟非洲地平线地区主任,浸信会约翰-贾亚-普拉卡什将担任印度(特伦甘纳地区)地区主任。

Baptist World Alliance Welcomes New Member from the Caribbean

St. Kitts Baptist Association Becomes 241st Member Body
Baptist World Alliance Logo

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA – July 24, 2020)

During the 2020 Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Virtual General Council this week, council members voted unanimously to approve the membership application of the St. Kitts Baptist Association. Located in the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis, the association is the 241st member body within the 115-year-old organization.

Established in 1964 and revived in 2010, St. Kitts Baptist Association has 600 members in three churches and has convention offices located in Basseterre, St. Kitts. Their leadership includes Association President Lincoln D. Connor and General Secretary Michael Penny.

“The St. Kitts Baptist Association is an energetic group of believers who have been providing excellent leadership in the Caribbean Baptist Fellowship,” said Roy Medley, Chairperson of the BWA Membership Committee. “The Membership Committee welcomed their interest in joining and is greatly pleased to see the global fellowship of the BWA broadened by their membership.”

As part of the application process, the association submitted supporting documents that included a statement of faith, organizational history, and documentation of their membership within the Caribbean Baptist Fellowship (CBF), one of six regional BWA fellowships.

“I am elated to know that the St. Kitts Baptist Association has been accepted as a member body of the Baptist World Alliance,” said Everton Jackson, CBF Executive Secretary & Treasurer and BWA Director of Integral Mission. “The Baptists of this Caribbean country have had a long history of holistic service, ministering to both the spiritual and material needs of its congregants and members of the wider community. I am sure that in becoming a member of the global Baptist family, they will make themselves available to partner with the worldwide Baptists in integral mission.”

Lincoln Connor, President of St. Kitts Baptist Association and Pastor of Antioch Baptist Church, is pictured in worship with his congregation. Antioch Baptist Church is one of three churches within the St. Kitts Baptist Association.

Incoming member bodies are typically introduced and celebrated at BWA Annual Gatherings. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the BWA General Council had to transition to a virtual recognition. Despite the challenging circumstances, President Connor relayed his excitement at the opportunity to serve together with global Baptists at this time and in the future.

“We are delighted to be officially inducted into the membership of the Baptist World Alliance. As a local gathering, we believe there is scope for greater impact as we collaborate and fellowship with our brothers and sisters across the globe. Membership in the BWA is a reflection of the diversity of God’s Kingdom (Rev. 7:9),” said Connor.

During the 2015-2020 quinquennium, the Membership Committee has led efforts to welcome nine new member bodies from nine countries into the BWA.

“It is exciting to see how God is growing our global Baptist family as we now stretch across 126 countries and territories,” said BWA General Secretary Elijah Brown. “We look forward to partnering together with St. Kitts Baptist Association in our mission to impact the world for Christ.”

###

The Baptist World Alliance, founded in 1905, is a fellowship of 241 conventions and unions in 126 countries and territories comprising 47 million baptized believers in 169,000 churches. For more than 100 years, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Media Contact:
J. Merritt Johnston
Director of Communications & Media
Email: communications@baptistworld.org

Latest News

BWA Supports United States Ambassador Nomination

Building upon the ministry’s long history of advocacy in the area of religious freedom, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) stands in support of the nomination of Rashad Hussain as the new United States Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom.

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).