浸信会世界联盟任命BWAid主任。

马莎-西皮奥成为该部100年历史中的下一位领导人。
Baptist World Alliance Logo

即时发布

(弗吉尼亚州法尔兹教堂--2021年1月27日)

经过全球搜索和面试过程,浸信会世界联盟(BWA)将任命玛莎-西皮奥牧师担任浸信会世界援助组织(BWAid)主任。浸信会世界援助组织起源于一个世纪前对1918年西班牙流感大流行的反应,这次任命是在世界继续与第19号流感病毒作战的关键时刻作出的。西皮奥将于2月1日开始担任这一行政级别的职务,专注于妇女事务局的核心事务领域--援助、救济和社区发展。

在妇女事务局的援助项目中,西皮奥将领导妇女事务局对有需要的人作出反应,在危机时期进行合作,建立机构网络,支持可持续性和创造关怀,建设能力,并授权地方教会参与。这将包括监督妇女事务局的赠款和项目;促进妇女事务局援助和发展论坛(BFAD);以及参与更多的神学思考、合作、培训和宣教行动。

"我坚信弥迦书的使命--行公义、爱怜悯、谦卑地与我们的上帝同行。响应BWAid主任职位的召唤,是邀请我在全球范围内行使这一使命。因此,我说:"是的,是上帝。是的,对妇女事务局。对那些仍处于21世纪耶利哥道路边缘的人来说,也是如此。"西皮奥说。"我期待着在危机时刻与兄弟姐妹们一起工作;分享资源和知识以促进可持续发展,特别是在最脆弱的浸信会成员居住的地方;并期待着与国际援助界的领导人进行有意的合作。我很高兴能与我们的浸信会地区和浸信会大家庭合作,共同为所有上帝的孩子服务"。

Scipio的领导背景包括在当地教会、非营利组织、政府实体以及地方和国家教派机构中的服务。她出生在特立尼达和多巴哥,在美国长大,曾在特立尼达和多巴哥教育部以及美国司法部民权司实习。她后来在Legal Outreach, Inc.担任过各种职务,包括与法律有关的教育协调员和现场主任。她在美国纽约布鲁克林区的Berean社区和家庭生活中心担任了五年的执行董事,包括监督一个新的数百万美元的经济适用房开发项目的完成,并监督所有的健康、保健和青年发展项目。西皮奥代表国王县参加了纽约市美国浸信会董事会,并于2018年1月被任命为美国浸信会副秘书长,特别关注宣教活动和伙伴关系。在担任副秘书长期间,Scipio协调ABCUSA的创造正义倡议,建立全国性的伙伴关系,并参与基于教会和普世的网络。

"几十年来,浸信会世界联盟的事工一直是其核心重点。召唤玛莎-西皮奥担任其新主任是一个鼓舞人心的选择。美国浸信会世界联盟前秘书长李-斯皮策说:"全球的浸信会人道主义援助机构将发现他们有一位热情的倡导者,在浸信会成员努力为基督影响世界的过程中,他将与他们一起不懈地工作,并与他们合作。

西皮奥热衷于装备当地教会的门徒,目前在美国纽约布鲁克林区的比利安浸信会担任副牧师和青年牧师。在这个职位上,她一直被投资于下一代的机会所鼓舞,特别是通过向青少年和年轻人教授圣经。她还作为Women Who Minister的创始人和召集人投资于妇女培训,该会议旨在增强妇女在讲坛和市场上服事的能力和装备。

她对跨文化事工的兴趣促使她在印度学习布道和宗教对话,在利比里亚历史悠久的普罗维登斯浸信会从事牧养事工和社区发展,在南非和海地宣教,并前往以色列和巴勒斯坦领土参加基督教和犹太教之间的对话。最近,她有幸在缅甸和波多黎各讲道和服务。

她的任命是在进行了多方面的搜索之后作出的,该搜索产生了30多名申请者,妇女事务局的所有六个地区都有代表。遴选工作由一个国际委员会监督,委员会成员包括托马斯-麦基(浸信会主席)、伊利亚-布朗(浸信会秘书长)、埃弗顿-杰克逊(浸信会综合宣教部主任)、尤蒂卡尔斯-万布阿(浸信会援助委员会副主席)、罗尼-邱(亚太浸信会联合会援助委员会主席)和丽莎-罗森伯格(美国浸信会世界救济官员)。

"主赋予玛莎宝贵的天赋,同时,她为自己做了很好的准备,并具有不断学习的优秀个人品格,"麦基说。"她并不孤单。她将有一个伟大的团队与之合作,同时她将与整个全球浸信会大家庭和其他机构一起协调工作。我们承诺为她祈祷,并积极参与这项工作,参与完成这项事工可能需要的各个方面"。

西皮奥拥有耶鲁大学的文学士学位,纽约大学的心理学硕士,普林斯顿神学院的神学硕士,以及乔治敦大学法律中心的法学博士学位。在乔治敦大学期间,她获得了公共利益和社区服务办公室颁发的公共服务奖。在普林斯顿大学学习期间,她获得了马修-安德森、乔纳森-C-吉布斯和约翰-B-里夫的历史奖,以及布莱恩特-M-柯克兰的实用神学奖。

"我们很幸运地欢迎西皮奥牧师加入妇女事务局的团队,在她以妇女事务局一个世纪的国度影响力为基础,引导其走向战略性的未来时,我们以祷告的方式支持她的领导,"妇女事务局总书记布朗说。"我们也要对那些站在缺口处领导我们的全球援助和救济工作的人表示感谢,特别是我们在2020年的站在一起全球响应计划。我要特别赞扬雷切尔-康韦-多尔在发展和促进BFAD方面发挥的作用,这个由超过25个全球实体组成的网络在过去一年中为COVID-19筹集了超过$1.5万美元的援助和救济。这为在世界这一关键时期进行有效的全球合作铺平了道路,并将在未来几年内结出硕果"。

布朗继续说:"我还想特别感谢BMS世界宣教组织的忠实合作,并慷慨借调瑞秋-康威-多尔担任BFAD的协调员。我也要感谢肯德拉-伊斯特曼(Kendra Eastman)作为世界粮食计划署援助助理的忠实服务,以及世界粮食计划署会计莫妮卡-蒂尔(Monica Teal)在大流行病发生的最初几个月里向82个国家发放了130多笔紧急援助资金的重大举措。

要了解更多关于BWAid和 "团结一致 "全球应对计划的信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/bwaid.

###

经过30多名申请者的全球搜索,玛莎-斯基皮奥牧师被任命为浸信会世界援助主任。如欲观看西皮奥牧师的介绍性视频,请访问我们的
BWA YouTube频道 或点击上面的图片。

世界浸礼会联盟成立于1905年,是一个由126个国家和地区的241个大会和联盟组成的联盟,由169 000个教会的4 700万受洗信徒组成。100多年来,世界浸礼会联盟将浸礼会大家庭联系在一起,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;推动神学思考和领导力发展。

媒体联系:
J.Merritt Johnston
传播与媒体总监
电子邮件:communications@baptistworld.org

最新资讯

地平线团队增加新员工

为回应地平线儿童和青年事工培训倡议在区域的大幅增长,浸礼会世界联盟(BWA)高兴地宣布增加三名团队成员。Koffi Soké Kpomgbe将担任浸信会世界联盟非洲地平线地区主任,浸信会约翰-贾亚-普拉卡什将担任印度(特伦甘纳地区)地区主任。

世界浸信会联盟呼吁公平分配疫苗。

为回应地平线儿童和青年事工培训倡议在区域的大幅增长,浸礼会世界联盟(BWA)高兴地宣布增加三名团队成员。Koffi Soké Kpomgbe将担任浸信会世界联盟非洲地平线地区主任,浸信会约翰-贾亚-普拉卡什将担任印度(特伦甘纳地区)地区主任。

浸信会世界联盟将举办虚拟世界大会

世界浸礼会联盟(BWA)将于2021年7月7日至10日把第22届世界浸礼会大会转为完全虚拟的活动。这一决定是在对COVID-19全球大流行病作出祈祷后作出的,也是与全球浸礼会领导人合作讨论的结果。

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

Marsha Scipio Becomes Next Leader in Ministry's 100-Year History
Baptist World Alliance Logo

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA – January 27, 2021)

Following a global search and interview process, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is appointing Rev. Marsha Scipio to serve as Director of Baptist World Aid (BWAid). With the origins of BWAid arising a century ago in response to the 1918 Spanish Flu pandemic, this appointment comes at a pivotal time as the world continues to battle COVID-19. Scipio will begin her service in this executive level role on February 1, focusing on the BWA’s core ministry area of aid, relief, and community development.

Within the BWAid portfolio, Scipio will lead the BWA’s response to people in need by collaborating in times of crisis, networking agencies, supporting sustainability and creation care, building capacity, and empowering local church engagement. This will include oversight of BWAid grants and programs; facilitation of the BWA Forum on Aid and Development (BFAD); and engagement in additional theological reflection, collaboration, training, and missional action.

“I am a firm believer in the Micah mandate – to do justice, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with our God. To respond to the call of the BWAid Director role is an invitation to exercise this mandate on a global scale. Therefore, I said, ‘Yes. Yes to God. Yes to BWA. And yes to those who still find themselves on or in the margins of the 21st Century Jericho roads,'” said Scipio. “I look forward to working alongside sisters and brothers in times of crisis; to sharing resources and knowledge to promote sustainable development, especially in places where the most vulnerable Baptists reside; and to intentional collaboration with leaders in the international aid community. I am excited to partner with our BWA regions and Baptist family as we Stand Together to serve all God’s children.”

Scipio’s leadership background includes service within the local church, non-profits, government entities as well as local and national denominational bodies. Born in Trinidad and Tobago and raised in the USA, she completed internships with the Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Education as well as the United States Department of Justice – Civil Rights Division. She went on to serve in various roles with Legal Outreach, Inc., including Law-Related Education Coordinator and Site Director. She served for five years as the Executive Director of the Berean Community & Family Life Center in Brooklyn, New York, USA, which included overseeing the completion of a new multi-million dollar affordable housing development project and supervision of all health, wellness, and youth development programs. Scipio represented Kings County on the Board of Directors for American Baptist Churches of Metro New York and was appointed to the role of Associate General Secretary of American Baptist Churches USA (ABCUSA) in January 2018, with a special focus on missional initiatives and partnerships. In her role as Associate General Secretary, Scipio coordinated ABCUSA’s Creation Justice Initiatives, built national partnerships, and engaged in church-based and ecumenical networks.

“The ministry of BWAid has been a core focus of the Baptist World Alliance for decades. The calling of Marsha Scipio to serve as its new director is an inspired choice. Baptist humanitarian aid agencies across the globe will find they have a passionate advocate for their cause who will work tirelessly and collaboratively with them as Baptists strive to impact the world for Christ,” said Lee Spitzer, former General Secretary of ABCUSA.

Scipio is passionate about equipping disciples within the local church and currently serves as Associate Minister and Youth Pastor at Berean Baptist Church in Brooklyn, New York, USA. Within this role, she has been encouraged by the opportunity to invest in the next generation, particularly through teaching the Bible to youth and young adults. She has also invested in training for women as the Founder and Convener of Women Who Minister, a conference designed to empower and equip women to serve in ministry in the pulpit and the marketplace.

Her interest in cross-cultural ministry has led her to study preaching and religious dialogue in India, to engage in pastoral ministry and community development in Liberia at the historic Providence Baptist Church, to serve on mission in South Africa and Haiti, and to journey to Israel and Palestine territories to participate in Christian-Jewish interfaith dialogues. Most recently, she has been privileged to preach and serve in Myanmar and Puerto Rico.

Her appointment follows a multi-faceted search, which yielded more than 30 applicants with all six BWA regions represented. The search was overseen by an international committee that included Tomás Mackey (BWA President), Elijah Brown (BWA General Secretary), Everton Jackson (BWA Director of Integral Mission), Euticauls Wambua (Vice Chair of the BWA Commission on Aid), Ronnie Chiu (Chair of the Asia Pacific Baptist Federation Aid Committee), and Lisa Rothenberger (World Relief Officer for ABCUSA).

“The Lord has endowed Marsha with precious gifts, and at the same time, she has prepared herself well and has an excellent personal disposition to continually learn,” said Mackey. “She is not alone. She will have a great team with which to work, and at the same time she will coordinate the work together with the entire worldwide Baptist family and other agencies. We commit our prayers and our active participation in the work and in every aspect that may be required to fulfill the ministry.”

Scipio holds a Bachelor of Arts from Yale University, a Master of Arts in Psychology from New York University, a Master of Divinity from Princeton Theological Seminary, and a Juris Doctorate from Georgetown University Law Center. During her time at Georgetown, she was recognized with the Public Service Award from the Office of Public Interest and Community Service. In her studies at Princeton, she earned the Matthew Anderson, Jonathan C. Gibbs, and John B. Reeve Award in History as well as the Bryant M. Kirkland Award in Practical Theology.

“We are blessed to welcome Rev. Scipio to the BWA team, and we prayerfully champion her leadership as she builds upon BWAid’s century of kingdom impact to guide it toward a strategic future,” said BWA General Secretary Brown. “We also want to express gratitude to those who have stood in the gap to lead our global aid and relief efforts, particularly our Standing Together Global Response Plan in 2020. I want to especially commend Rachel Conway-Doel for her instrumental role in the development and facilitation of BFAD, a network of more than 25 global entities that has mobilized more than $1.5 million USD in COVID-19 aid and relief over the last year. This has paved the way for effective global collaboration during this crucial time in the world and will bear fruit for years to come.”

Brown continued, “I would also like give special thanks to BMS World Mission for their faithful partnership and generous secondment of Rachel Conway-Doel to serve as BFAD Facilitator. Commendations are also extended to Kendra Eastman for her faithful service as BWAid Assistant and to BWA Comptroller Monica Teal for executing the monumental distribution of more than 130 emergency aid grants to 82 countries within the initial months of the pandemic.”

To learn more about BWAid and the Standing Together Global Response Plan, visit BaptistWorld.org/bwaid.

###

After a global search with more than 30 applicants, Rev. Marsha Scipio has been appointed to serve as Baptist World Aid Director. To view an introductory video of Rev. Scipio, visit our
BWA YouTube Channel or click the image above.

The Baptist World Alliance, founded in 1905, is a fellowship of 241 conventions and unions in 126 countries and territories comprising 47 million baptized believers in 169,000 churches. For more than 100 years, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Media Contact:
J. Merritt Johnston
Director of Communications & Media
Email: communications@baptistworld.org