浸信会世界联盟宣布成立种族正义行动小组。

Baptist World Alliance Logo

即时发布

(弗吉尼亚州法尔兹教堂--2021年1月18日)

为了纪念小马丁-路德-金和他的预言性见证,世界浸信会联盟(BWA)呼吁全球大家庭在今天祈祷并继续追求种族正义。

妇女事务局种族、性别和经济正义委员会主席卡桑德拉-琼斯说:"在美国各地,今年头两周以及整个2020年的行动都鲜明地提醒我们,种族不公的罪孽继续使教会和社会中的许多人跌倒。我们认识到这并不局限于任何一个国家,因为种族定性、系统性的不公正和法外警察暴力仍然是太普遍的现实,敦促我们加入到圣经的呼吁中,进行先知式的参与。现在是我们全球基督徒大家庭领导我们当地社区参与促进愈合、勇气和希望的对话的时候了"。

鉴于这些正在发生的现实情况,妇女事务局于2020年10月在妇女事务局执行委员会的一致肯定下成立了一个特别的种族公正行动小组。该行动小组由妇女事务局总书记埃利亚-M-布朗和来自牙买加的妇女事务局第一副主席卡尔-约翰逊担任共同主席。 

"必须坚持不懈地反对种族主义的罪恶,这一点不需要辩论。不管是有意还是无意,呼唤和打击这一危害人类的不公正敌人所需的严厉态度常常被引诱到自满状态--也许是由于在这场战斗中被认为获得了利益。约翰逊说:"我们这一代人已经被唤醒,被召唤到迫切需要加强我们在争取种族平等和公平的斗争中的声音和宣传。"这个行动小组的成立传达了我们对上帝呼召的顺服,即像我们的先辈一样为种族正义而站起来,并发挥我们的作用,确保平等和公平的福音价值在我们浸信会大家庭中扎根,甚至在我们努力使它们也成为世界上的现实。我们将不会退缩!"

种族正义行动小组的任务期限为两年,它将围绕当今的一些关键问题开展工作,包括:

  • 2022年7月,妇女事务局年度聚会的重点是围绕种族正义的主题 -- -- 主旨发言人、妇女事务局所有14个委员会的工作、朝圣以及其他祈祷和行动要点。 
  • 对当今社会和教会中种族正义呼声的神学思考。
  • 对赔偿问题的特别审议
  • 为妇女事务局、妇女事务局成员机构和教会的持续参与开发工具,使追求种族正义仍然是一个持续的优先事项。

除共同主席外,该行动小组的首届指导委员会成员还包括卡桑德拉-琼斯(美国妇女事务局种族、性别和经济正义委员会主席)、埃弗顿-杰克逊(牙买加妇女事务局综合任务主任)、迈克尔-奥克瓦科(乌干达非洲教会赋权事工的创始人和主席)和西尔维娅-拉皮萨尔达(意大利卡塔尼亚巴蒂斯塔教堂的牧师)。这个指导委员会将与妇女事务局的相关委员会和更多的关键利益相关者、专家和领导人密切联系,共同领导。

"布朗说:"现在迫切需要我们重新承诺驱除种族不公正,坚持植根于上帝在所有人身上的形象的人类尊严观,以及预言性的希望,即只有当所有地方的人都作为姐妹和兄弟受到欢迎和拥抱时,才能发现上帝之国的丰盛。"布朗说:"即使妇女事务局继续在倡导种族公正的传统基础上发展,现在也是我们每个人参与有意识的祈祷的时候了,用《申命记》16:20的话说,'遵循正义,只遵循正义'。

為了進一步呼籲我們在禱告中團結一致,浸信會聯盟與第一機構浸信會(美國亞利桑那州鳳凰城)的牧師Warren H. Stewart Sr.一起,要求世界各地的浸信會信徒在本周內團結禱告。重点领域概述如下。

星期一:在《圣经》先知、耶稣基督和小马丁-路德-金的激励下,为全球的种族正义祈祷感恩。
星期二:为我们在全球范围内犯下的种族不公的所有罪行忏悔祷告,并忏悔。
星期三:为美国总统乔-拜登和副总统卡玛拉-哈里斯的就职典礼虔诚祈祷,希望上帝能使用他们来领导美国和世界的种族公正。
星期四:为全球范围内种族不公的受害者和种族不公的受害者之间的和解祈祷。
星期五:祈祷那些因全球种族不公正而损失惨重的人得到恢复,并祈祷这可能是种族公正正在实现的证据。

若要下载分发的祈祷指南或了解有关种族公正行动小组的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/racial-justice.

###

 

妇女事务局人权、和平建设与和解委员会主席安斯勒姆-沃里克为种族正义祈祷,以表彰和纪念小马丁-路德-金日。

 

世界浸礼会联盟成立于1905年,是一个由126个国家和地区的241个大会和联盟组成的联盟,由169 000个教会的4 700万受洗信徒组成。100多年来,世界浸礼会联盟将浸礼会大家庭联系在一起,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;推动神学思考和领导力发展。

媒体联系:
J.Merritt Johnston
传播与媒体总监
电子邮件:communications@baptistworld.org

最新资讯

地平线团队增加新员工

为回应地平线儿童和青年事工培训倡议在区域的大幅增长,浸礼会世界联盟(BWA)高兴地宣布增加三名团队成员。Koffi Soké Kpomgbe将担任浸信会世界联盟非洲地平线地区主任,浸信会约翰-贾亚-普拉卡什将担任印度(特伦甘纳地区)地区主任。

世界浸信会联盟呼吁公平分配疫苗。

为回应地平线儿童和青年事工培训倡议在区域的大幅增长,浸礼会世界联盟(BWA)高兴地宣布增加三名团队成员。Koffi Soké Kpomgbe将担任浸信会世界联盟非洲地平线地区主任,浸信会约翰-贾亚-普拉卡什将担任印度(特伦甘纳地区)地区主任。

浸信会世界联盟任命BWAid主任。

为纪念马丁-路德-金及其预言性的见证,世界浸礼会联盟呼吁全球大家庭祈祷并继续追求种族正义。浸礼会世界联盟正在作出的反应包括成立一个种族正义行动小组。

浸信会世界联盟将举办虚拟世界大会

世界浸礼会联盟(BWA)将于2021年7月7日至10日把第22届世界浸礼会大会转为完全虚拟的活动。这一决定是在对COVID-19全球大流行病作出祈祷后作出的,也是与全球浸礼会领导人合作讨论的结果。

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

Baptist World Alliance Logo

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA – January 18, 2021)

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice today.

Cassandra Jones, Chair of the BWA Commission on Racial, Gender, and Economic Justice, said, “Across the United States, actions of the first two weeks of this year as well as throughout 2020 are stark reminders that the sin of racial injustice continues to cause many in the church and in society to stumble. We recognize this is not limited to any one country as racial profiling, systemic injustice, and extrajudicial police violence remain far too common realities that urge us to join in the biblical call for prophetic engagement. Now is the time for our global Christian family to lead our local communities to engage in conversations that foster healing, courage, and hope.”

In light of these ongoing realities, the BWA launched a special Racial Justice Action Group in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. The Action Group is co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica. 

“The need to be relentless against the sin of racism is impatient of debate. Wittingly, or unwittingly, the stridency required to call out and combat this iniquitous enemy against humankind has too often been lured into complacency – perhaps due to perceived gains in the battle. Our generation has been awakened and summoned to the urgent need to strengthen our voices and advocacy in the struggle for racial equality and equity,” said Johnson. “The formation of this Action Group communicates our obedience to the call of God to stand up for racial justice as did our forebears and to play our part in ensuring that the Gospel values of equality and equity take root in our Baptist family even as we work toward them also becoming a reality in the world. We shall not resile from it!”

Given a two-year mandate, the Racial Justice Action Group will engage around a number of critical issues today including:

  • Focusing the BWA Annual Gathering in July 2022 around the theme of racial justice – featuring keynote speakers, the work of all 14 BWA Commissions, pilgrimages, and other points of prayer and action 
  • Theological reflection on the call for racial justice today within society and within the church
  • Special consideration on the subject of reparations
  • Developing tools for ongoing engagement within the BWA, BWA Member Bodies, and Churches so that the pursuit of racial justice will remain an ongoing priority

Alongside the Co-Chairs, inaugural steering committee members of this Action Group include Cassandra Jones (Chair of the BWA Commission on Racial, Gender, and Economic Justice, USA), Everton Jackson (BWA Director of Integral Mission, Jamaica), Michael Okwakol (Founder and President of African Church Empowerment Ministries,Uganda), and Silvia Rapisarda (Pastor of Chiesa Battista di Catania, Italy). This steering committee will be leading in close connection with relevant BWA Commissions and wider sets of key stakeholders, experts, and leaders.

“There is an urgency to recommit ourselves to exorcizing racial injustice and to holding to a vision of human dignity rooted in the image of God in all people and a prophetic hope anticipating a Kingdom of God found in its fullness only as all people from all places are welcomed and embraced as sisters and brothers,” said Brown. “Even as the BWA continues to build upon a legacy of advocating for racial justice, the time is now for each one of us to engage in intentional prayer and in the words of Deuteronomy 16:20, ‘Follow justice and justice alone.'”

To further call us to a corporate solidarity in prayer, the BWA joins with Warren H. Stewart Sr., Pastor of First Institutional Baptist Church (Phoenix, Arizona, USA), in asking each Baptist around the world to unite in prayer this week. Focus areas are outlined below.

Monday: Praying in thanksgiving for racial justice globally, inspired by the Biblical prophets, Jesus Christ, and Martin Luther King Jr.
Tuesday: Praying in confession and repentance for all the ways we have committed the sin of racial injustice globally.
Wednesday: Praying in faith for the inauguration of U.S. President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris and that God will use them to lead the United States of America and the world in racial justice.
Thursday: Praying for reconciliation globally between those who have been victims of racial injustice and those who have been victimizers of racial injustice.
Friday: Praying for restoration to those who have lost so much as a consequence of racial injustice globally and that it may be evidence racial justice is being achieved.

To download the prayer guide for distribution or for more information about the Racial Justice Action Group, visit BaptistWorld.org/racial-justice.

###

 

Anslem Warrick, Chair of the BWA Commission on Human Rights, Peacebuilding, and Reconciliation, voices a prayer for racial justice in recognition and remembrance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

 

The Baptist World Alliance, founded in 1905, is a fellowship of 241 conventions and unions in 126 countries and territories comprising 47 million baptized believers in 169,000 churches. For more than 100 years, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Media Contact:
J. Merritt Johnston
Director of Communications & Media
Email: communications@baptistworld.org