Baptistische Welthilfe und die Armen in Gottes Welt

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2007.3

Die Jahrestagung des Generalrats des Baptistischen Weltbundes, die vom 2. bis 7. Juli 2007 in Accra, Ghana, stattfand:

erneuert seinen auf der Generalversammlung in Seoul, Korea, 2004 gefassten Beschluss, die Fähigkeit von Hilfs- und Entwicklungsorganisationen wie Baptist World Aid zu stärken, eine biblisch geprägte Antwort auf die Bedürfnisse der Armen und Unterdrückten zu geben, im Einklang mit der Micah-Challenge-Kampagne zur Unterstützung der UN-Initiative aus dem Jahr 2000 zu den Millenniums-Entwicklungszielen, die weltweite Armut bis 2015 zu halbieren;

lobt die Fortschritte, die bisher zur Halbzeit der UN-Initiative durch das Engagement der Weltgemeinschaft nach den Advocacy-Kampagnen der Micah Challenge und anderer erzielt wurden, darunter

  1. mehr als 135 Millionen Menschen, die mit $1 pro Tag auskommen müssen;
  2. mehr als 34 Millionen zusätzliche Kinder, die eine Grundschule besuchen und abschließen;
  3. verstärkte Konzentration der Geber auf HIV und bis zu einem gewissen Grad auf Malaria und andere Krankheiten, was zu einem Rückgang der Tuberkulose-Infektionsraten in allen Regionen und zu einer Verzehnfachung der Verteilung von mit Insektiziden behandelten Netzen in Afrika führte;
  4. Verbesserung des Verhältnisses von eingeschulten Mädchen im Vergleich zu Jungen, wie in Südasien gezeigt, wo es von 69 auf 87 Mädchen für 100 Jungen gestiegen ist;
  5. Anstieg der Zahl der Frauen, die Hilfe bei der Entbindung erhalten, in den meisten Regionen;
  6. verstärkte Hilfsflüsse an die ärmsten Nationen, wobei der Schuldenerlass den größten Teil der erhöhten Hilfe ausmacht.

beklagt und verurteilt den mangelnden Fortschritt in Bezug auf einige der Ziele zur Reduzierung der Armut in Gottes Welt und findet es völlig inakzeptabel, dass:

7. 10 Millionen Kinder sterben immer noch jedes Jahr, hauptsächlich an vermeidbaren Krankheiten;

8. 500.000 Frauen sterben jedes Jahr an Komplikationen bei Schwangerschaft und Geburt, in einigen Ländern Afrikas (z. B. Niger) stirbt jede siebte Frau;

9. 90 Millionen Kinder haben immer noch keinen Zugang zur Grundschulbildung;

10. Die HIV-Prävalenzraten stiegen 2006 in allen Regionen der Welt, und tragischerweise entsprach die Zahl der AIDS-Todesfälle in Afrika in etwa der Zahl der Neuinfektionen; die Finanzierung von Wasser und sanitären Einrichtungen, die für die öffentliche Gesundheit, Produktivität und

11. Bildung, ist ein Drittel der geschätzten $23 Milliarden, die für die 1 Milliarde Menschen ohne diese Einrichtungen benötigt werden;

12. Die Armen sind am stärksten von der Bedrohung der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit betroffen, die durch den Anstieg der Treibhausgasemissionen und die aktuellen und prognostizierten Auswirkungen der globalen Erwärmung verursacht wird;

13. Das Scheitern der Doha-Verhandlungen der Welthandelsorganisation hat viele der Ungerechtigkeiten im globalen Handelssystem bestehen lassen, die vor allem die armen Nationen betreffen.

erkennt an, dass ein verstärktes Engagement der Kirchen und Mitglieder des Baptistischen Weltbundes erforderlich ist, indem

1) Erhöhung unserer persönlichen und unternehmerischen finanziellen Opfer für die Armen;

2) energisches Eintreten für und Lobbyarbeit bei unseren nationalen Führern bezüglich ihrer moralischen Verantwortung für die Bedürfnisse der Armen;

3) ein authentischeres, ganzheitliches Evangelium in unseren Glaubensgemeinschaften zu lehren;

4) als Agenten der Hoffnung mit und für die Armen zu handeln und so dafür zu sorgen, dass die Millenniumsziele erreicht werden, damit alle, die nach Gottes Ebenbild geschaffen sind, so leben können, wie Gott es vorgesehen hat.

fordert die Nationen der Welt auf, ihre Verpflichtungen gegenüber den Millenniums-Entwicklungszielen der Vereinten Nationen ernst zu nehmen, das derzeitige Niveau der weltweiten Armut bis 2015 zu halbieren. Fordert ferner die reichsten Nationen auf, dringende Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um sicherzustellen, dass mindestens 0,7% des nationalen Bruttosozialprodukts für dieses Ziel verwendet werden, und so eine gerechtere und barmherzigere Welt zu sichern.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch der Baptistischen Weltallianz 2007: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptistischer Weltbund, 2007.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch der Baptistischen Weltallianz 2007: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2007), S. 94- 96.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2007.3 Baptistische Welthilfe und die Armen in Gottes Welt; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2007.3).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Baptist World Aid and the Poor in God’s World

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2007.3

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance Annual Gathering, meeting in Accra, Ghana, July 2-7, 2007:

Renews its decision made at the General Council in Seoul, Korea, 2004, to strengthen the capacity of aid and development agencies, such as Baptist World Aid, to make a biblically- shaped response to the needs of the poor and oppressed in line with the Micah Challenge campaign to support the UN initiative of 2000 on the Millennium Development Goals to halve the level of world poverty by 2015;

Applauds what progress has been made so far at the half way mark of the UN initiative through the commitment by the world community, following advocacy campaigns by the Micah Challenge and others, including

  1. more than 135 million people lifted above living on $1 a day;
  2. more than 34 million additional children attending and completing primary school;
  3. increased donor focus on HIV, and to some extent on malaria and other diseases, resulting in a reduction in tuberculosis infection rates in all regions and a ten-fold increase in distribution of insecticide-treated nets in Africa;
  4. improvement in the ratio of girls enrolled in school compared to boys, as demonstrated in South Asia where it has increased from 69 to 87 girls for 100 boys;
  5. increase in the number of women receiving assistance in childbirth in most regions;
  6. increased flows of aid to the poorest nations, with debt cancellation forming the bulk of the increased aid.

Laments and is convicted by the lack of progress towards some of the Goals to reduce poverty in God’s world, finding it totally unacceptable that:

7. 10 million children still die each year, primarily from preventable diseases;

8. 500,000 women die each year from complication in pregnancy and childbirth, with 1 in 7 women dying in some countries of Africa (e.g. Niger);

9. 90 million children still do not have access to primary school education;

10. HIV prevalence rates rose in every region of the world in 2006, and tragically, AIDS deaths in Africa roughly matched the number of new infections; water and sanitation funding, critical to public health, productivity and

11. education, is one third of the estimated $23 billion needed for the 1 billion people without these facilities;

12. the poor are the most vulnerable to the threat to environmental sustainability caused by the rise in greenhouse gas emissions and the current and projected impact of global warming;

13. the collapse of the Doha World Trade Organization negotiations has left many of the injustices in the global trade system in place, primarily affecting the poor nations.

Recognizes that an increased commitment is needed by the churches and members of the Baptist World Alliance by

1) increasing our personal and corporate financial sacrifice on behalf of the poor;

2) vigorously advocating to and lobbying our national leaders on their moral responsibility for the needs of the poor;

3) teaching a more authentic holistic Gospel to our faith communities;

4) acting as agents of hope with and for the poor, and so see that the Millennium Goals are achieved, in order that all, created in God’s image, may live life as God intended.

Calls upon the nations of the world to take seriously their commitments to the Millennium Development Goals of the United Nations to halve the current level of world poverty by 2015. Further calls upon the richest nations to take urgent action to ensure that at least 0.7% of the national GNP is used to this end, and so secure a more just and merciful world.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2007 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2007.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2007 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2007), pp. 94- 96.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2007.3 Baptist World Aid and the Poor in God’s World; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2007.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

New Staff Added to Horizons Team

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Calls for Equitable Distribution of Vaccines

In response to the substantial regional growth of the Horizons Children and Youth Ministry Training Initiative, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is pleased to announce the addition of three team members. Koffi Soké Kpomgbe will serve as Area Director for BWA Horizons Africa, and Baptist John Jaya Prakash will serve as Area Director for India (Telangana Region).

Baptist World Alliance Appoints BWAid Director

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance Announces Racial Justice Action Group

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. and his prophetic witness, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) calls upon the global family to pray and continue to pursue racial justice. Part of the BWA’s ongoing response includes the formation of a Racial Justice Action Group.

Baptist World Alliance to Host Virtual World Congress

The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) is transitioning the 22nd Baptist World Congress to a fully virtual event on July 7-10, 2021. This decision was made in prayerful response to the COVID-19 global pandemic and as a result of collaborative discussions with global Baptist leaders.